Click for demo video Click for demo video
It works.hard drive data recovery softwareIt works.

Does SpinRite TRULY work?

 Please take a moment to read some of the unsolicited feedback we continually receive from SpinRite owners who are, as you can see for yourself, often amazed, stunned, and quite grateful for what SpinRite was able to do for them . . .

 Because it is based on solid science and proven engineering, SpinRite routinely performs miracles of data recovery for 1/100th the cost of independent third-party data recovery services. You just run it and SpinRite fixes everything that's wrong. Sometimes it will warn of more serious impending trouble:
May 25, 2016 — Subject: YAST! Yet Another SpinRite Testimonial!
From: Sitbit in London, Ontario, Canada

Just a short and sweet SpinRite story. I had an old 320 GB spinning disk salvaged from a laptop that I used to store some of my data. It wasn't terribly important, but I didn't want to lose it, so I had it mirrored to a backup drive. Well, the drive failed, so the directory I had it hanging off of showed up as empty so my mirroring software dutifully DELETED MY BACKUP, thinking the files had been purposely removed. Long story short, I caused Steve to hear a Yabba-Dabba-Do and two hours later my drive was back in action.

Thank you for this wonderful product!
Thanks again,
Sitbit
May 23, 2016 — Subject: Long-time listener finally uses SpinRite to recover data
From: Josh in Bartow, Florida
Subject: Long-time listener finally uses SpinRite to recover data

Hi Steve,

I'm a long time listener to the podcast. I appreciate the work you do each week to keep us safe and informed. Two years ago, I purchased a copy of SpinRite. Like many other listeners, I bought a copy just to support you and everything you do for us without asking for anything in return. I've used SpinRite in maintenance mode a couple of times, but never tried to recover data. Well, until yesterday, that is...

A friend of mine contacted me for help because his computer was acting "weird". He had rebooted the machine and suddenly it was asking him to "Insert Boot Media". The BIOS didn't recognize his hard drive and Windows would not load. He did have a partial backup on an external hard drive; however, it had been a couple of years since the last time he backed everything up. He has two small children and he was worried that he had lost a LOT of precious and irreplaceable photos, along with lots of other files.

I loaned him my copy of SpinRite, recommending that he run it on level 2. This evening, he sent me another message. SpinRite fixed the problem. Windows booted normally and all of his files were intact. My friend is now hard at work backing up all of his files to his external hard drive. I told him to get Carbonite (using the SECURITYNOW offer code, of course). I also told him to buy a copy of SpinRite for himself so he can maintain the drive. He is planning to do both.

Thanks again for making such a great podcast and such a great piece of software.
May 20, 2016 — Subject: My personal experience with an old friend “SpinRite”
From: Curt M in Southern California

Dear Steve,

In the 1970's, you would call the TV repairman to replace the tubes in your TV.

They were very expensive, and went out often. In the 1980's, computers were much the same.

Hard drives, though more reliable than floppy discs, for anyone who still remembers, that's not saying much.

As a young man in the 80s, I spent many an hour working in computer repair. The problems were many, from Compaq, and Mac-128K power supplies, to 30mb Seagate RLL drives - which was really just a 20MB drive with a different controller. Drives of that era were just not very reliable.

Over the course of my lifetime, I have repaired hundreds, if not thousands of hard drives. You know how many times after all those years SpinRite failed me?

0, Zero, nada. Wow!

To me, SpinRite is the Rock of Gibraltar. I've always felt, that if you know SpinRite, you know the man behind it. I believe it was a labor of love, and it shows in the end product. And if you love what you do, then you understand in intimate detail the principles of what makes it all tick. It's clear that you do.

Thanks for giving the world a product they can truly trust. I can attest that with SpinRite, you can trust it like an old friend.

Respectfully,
Curt M.
May 14, 2016 — Subject: SpinRite success on iMac SSD
Brad in New South Wales, Australia

Hi Steve and Leo,

I have been listening to your show for about 3 years and really enjoy it.

I need to give a bit of background to this story as there is a lot involved.

I have a 2009 iMac that hasn't missed a beat since I purchased it. A year ago, it started to slow down somewhat. Not wanting to fork out a few grand just yet for a new machine, I managed to pull the machine apart and upgrade the optical drive and 3.5" mechanical drive to 2 new HDDs. One a higher capacity spinning drive, the other, an SSD. The SSD was installed by a built for purpose blanking plate in the shape of the optical drive and was installed in the optical drive's original location. Once the SSD was in place, the machine ran like new.

Recently, the SSD was showing signs of failure and was no longer booting properly. Not wanting to pull the iMac apart again I researched a solution. I came across a video (I think you mentioned in a previous episode) where it was possible to run SpinRite from within MacOSX.

I installed OSX onto an external HDD and booted to it. I then downloaded VirtualBox and ran up a DOS virtual machine. I attached the dying SSD managed to the DOS virtual machine then booted SpinRite with its ISO file. I ran level 2 on the iMac's SSD and after rebooting she now runs just like new again.

Thanks for a great podcast!
Cheers,
Brad
May 10, 2016 — Subject: SpinRite Success Story
From: Kev Blythe

Hello Steve. I would to say thank you for that magical item of software you call SpinRite.

A local garage called in a panic, a old diag laptop had failed with a BSOD and was going round in circles ( like the owner). So I picked it up for a look.

I confirmed a hard drive issue, and having worked in a local PC repair shop where I often witnessed the proof of the power of your software to get hard drives back into a boot-able state, I headed to GRC for my own copy of SpinRite. I grabbed a copy and before lunchtime the machine was repaired, imaged, returned and smiles all round.

Many thanks
Kev Blythe, UK... and a local garage
Apr 26, 2016 — Sometimes SpinRite repairs even without fanfair
Rob Peel in Geelong Australia shared a brief SpinRite anecdote...

I purchased SpinRite a few years ago, and when a when friends XP machine was failing to boot I had a chance to give it a go. I pointed SpinRite at the hard drive and came back once it had finished. It hadn't appeared to have found any problems, so I was beginning to think it could be just windows rotting away as it seems to do when it has users installing all those search bars... Anyway I restarted the machine and she booted straight up without any errors, magic.
Apr 18, 2016 — Subject: Spinrite recovers SSD's? YOU BET IT DOES!
Simon Byrne
Location: Canberra, Australia

G'day Steve,

I bought Spinrite years ago for no other reason than to support you and the Security Now podcasts.

Last Saturday I fired up my Macbook Pro with a 1 Terabyte Outer World Computing SSD installed. It got half way and then shut down...not good.

I do video production and generate very large amounts of data. I do have a good local backup regime but backing up over the web is impractical as I generate many gigabytes every day. However, I was working the day before offsite with no local backup so I was faced with losing a full day's work which equated to about 12 gigabytes.

I took the SSD drive out of my Mac and put it into one of my PC's and fired up Spinrite on level 2. 9 hours later Spinrite had finished reporting no errors recovered. I was dissapointed that no errors were shown so I was dubious as to whether it was going to work.

I tentatively put the SSD back into my MAC and turned it on and YES, it booted up perfectly! I immediately backed up all my data.

So yes, Spinrite absolutely can recover data on a SSD drive.

Thanks for a great product and your awesome Security Now podcasts.

Regards,

Simon.
Canberra, Australia
Mar 24, 2016 — A public tweet to Steve (@SGgrc)
Stuart Carroll (@stuart_carroll) / 3/24/16, 4:54 AM

After hearing about @spinrite on @SecurityNow for so long, I tried it yesterday & it brought my media drive back from the dead!

Thanks @SGgrc
Feb 11, 2016 — Some SpinRite stories (and successes) are a bit odd...
Rick Harvey in Melbourne, Australia

Hi Steve (and Leo)

Did you know that SpinRite can save your power bill? Yes, this is bizarre.. But I'll let you try to work out why...

I've an old (sentimental) testing laptop (Dell Studio) that pretty much spends its day idle, sleeping between test runs. But annoyingly, it's always running the fan. Task manager shows the CPU barely getting off the baseline. I've even tried reinstalling the OS. No difference. Just noise and heat. Not so great during the summer!

I bought a copy of SpinRite last year just to support your show and give you the pleasure of a Yabba Dabba Doo. So it finally occured to me to give that machine a spin. Also because I'm curious about your SpinRite powerhouse fitting into just 170K of code.

So created a boot USB and off SpinRite went on Level 4. When it finished everything was green. I rebooted and all was quiet. OMG! No more fan running. The icing was a comment by my wife who hadn't realized the screen was blanked. She quipped: "So, you've finally turned off that heap of junk?". Shhhhh! (Let's not tell her!)

Awesome. Yada, Yada...

Best regards...Rick
Feb 10, 2016 — Here's a new concept: SpinRite and “Zombie” drives
From: Fred Pollock
Location: Goodrich, Mi. (No I'm not on Flint water)

I have owned SpinRite for years and can't count the number of creaky hard drives it's brought back to life (just like the Terminator Movie) They just get up and go again. Sometimes it gets a little scary like a zombie you can't kill. (Good Zombie Good Zombie) LOL
Feb 9, 2016 — Sometimes SpinRite really makes a difference in people's lives
I wanted to let you know that thanks to SpinRite, I was able to recover the pictures my daughter had taken around Europe in the Fall of 2014 when she was doing a Study Abroad her Junior year of college. She thought they were lost forever, so she'll be getting the picture for her Valentine's Day present! She studied Marketing overseas and as a Photography Major she was very disappointed when the last week of her semester the hard drive "crashed". I was saving up money to send the drive off to a data recover group. Now she can add a few of the pictures to her web site hannahswickphotography.com.

Thank you for creating a great tool!
--Forrest
Feb 1, 2016 — Another tweet, short and sweet
Dennis Stephens (@ParkerTechGuy) tweet at 2/1/16, 5:27 PM

@SGgrc System I use for my job, work from home died, ran my copy of SpinRite overnight, no errors reported, but then the system booted fine #Happy
Jan 26th, 2016 — Subject: SpinRite Success Story
David White
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Hi Steve,

A quick SpinRite story for you.

I bought a copy of SpinRite from you about 2 months ago, not because I needed it at the time, but just to give you a ‘yabba dabba doo’ in appreciation for the SN podcast, which I listen to religiously every week. (I’m also filling in my drive time by starting at episode one again).

I am a freelance IT guy in Auckland, New Zealand, and look after IT needs for a number of small businesses. This morning I heard my cell phone ringing before I had even gotten out of bed – never a good sign! It was a customer whose main Windows 7 PC (the one with their shared files and database on it) was getting stuck on the welcome screen immediately after logon. Once I got to their site, I was able to boot it into safe mode and attempted a system restore, which failed with an error indicating a problem with the drives volume shadow copy. I tried it a second time, and this time got a BSOD.

I booted back into safe mode, and ran chkdsk /r – 40 minutes later it reported that there were no problems on the disk, but my gut was telling me otherwise. I unplugged the PC , took it back to my office and booted it up with my SpinRite disk. Three hours later, I was on my way back to the customer with a fully working PC on the back seat.

The customer was of course delighted, so thanks a million for making me look good!

One last thing – it may be my over excited imagination, but I swear that PC ran faster after the SpinRite repair than it ever had since I installed it 5 years ago.

Thanks again,
Regards
David
Jan 12, 2016 — Subject: SpinRite helped a retired vet and saved my wife's sanity
From: Mark Clark
Location: Portland Oregon

Dear Steve,

My wife runs a nonprofit housing company and one of the tenants tends to visit the office when he has nothing better to do. His computer was not working so he was spending a lot of time in the office.

I happened to be in the office setting up a new computer and my wife asked me if there was a computer in the office she could give him. I asked him what was wrong and he said his screen was red and Windows would not boot.

So I told him to bring his computer to the office and I would look at it. I got out my trusted copy of SpinRite and let it go to work. I did notice the screen was not getting all the colors but I figured it was because I didn't have the video plug all the way in. SpinRite ran and had about 8,000,000 ecc errors and 600 seek errors, but otherwise it didn't complain.

Once SpinRite was finished Windows booted up just fine and let him know he could have his computer back, it was working again. He took it back to his apartment and when he tried to connect the video, the port fell completely off the motherboard. I told him to give it back to me and I would fix it. I went to the computer store and picked up an inexpensive video card. After installing the video card, I re-ran SpinRite on level four just to make sure. Now he has his computer back, which means he's not spending time in the office annoying the staff... and saving my wife's sanity. Thank you for a great product!

Mark Clark

06/18/2015 — Two Tweets and an eMail...
This user's experience perfectly illustrates what SpinRite owners typically experience:

First Tweet:
Peter Butler @satanssnaredrum - 1:35am · 18 Jun 2015 · Twitter for iPhone
@SGgrc hoping to have a testimonial in a few hours. #fingerscrossed being
spinwrited soon to be spinwritten.

SRTestimonial-PB
Note that the green [R]'s are regions that were initially completely unreadable
“bad sectors” but where SpinRite successfully performed full data recovery.

Second Tweet:
Peter Butler @satanssnaredrum - 8:04am · 18 Jun 2015 · Twitter Web Client
@SGgrc Worked a treat... It's a brilliant product you have. Managed to save my ass again. I Messaged your GRC feedback page. :)

And here's what Peter wrote:
From: "Peter Butler"

Hi Steve, I'm a CCTV technician from Kildare, Ireland. I tweeted you a spinwrite pic earlier.

A customer rang me with an error on his CCTV DVR. The DVR had recorded some important footage, but when he was trying to play it back, the DVR was crashing and freezing. The recorder appeared to have written to a corrupt partition and was unable to read it back.

A serious "dumping" incident had taken place which the CCTV would have recorded, so the customer was very anxious to get the footage. So I thought of Spinwrite. I'm an avid listener of your Security now podcast for the past few years and thought I'd give it a go.

I started up Spinwrite on level 2 (for Data recovery) and left it overnight. This morning I returned to work, rebooted the machine and it started with no problem. It was SpinWritten. I was even able to boot into the DVR Software, Review and download the important footage, and give it back to the customer.

Thanks to all at GRC for an amazing product. It's saved my ass multiple times now... Thanks to Steve and Leo for a great podcast too... Makes my commute to work on a Wednesday morning very enjoyable.

Many thanks, Peter
Kildare, Ireland

07/07/2015 — NOBODY sells SpinRite better than its own users...
From: Steve Schafir
Subject: This is a great product

Hi Steve,

This is a testimonial for your product. I had a PC that was over 10 years old. The hard drive crashed and would not boot up without an error. I tried putting it in another computer and still could not access the hard drive. I ran SpinRite and after it was done I was able to boot from and access the files. I am very thankful for this as a lot of those files I did not have backed up. There was about 20 years worth of data on that drive. This is a great product. It would have cost me thousands of dollars from a data recovery service.

Thanks, Steve

Schafir in Davie, Florida

07/07/2015 — Even though SpinRite also keeps drives healthy, everyone waits until it's too late...
From: Kevin Wilhelm

After listening to Steve’s podcasts for years and hearing stories about SpinRite, I finally got to use it in a real critical situation.

I work for an IT company that for the most part does Managed Services, but sometimes get called for “break fix” work. On this occasion, we were contacted by a large national boat manufacturing company whose headquarters are local. I was assigned with going onsite to “revive” an old XP machine that had crashed a while back but they wanted to get data off it. Once I got there and learned of the whole picture, they were actually getting audited for accounting purposes and they realized that the only instance of a very old program resided on this one computer, and there was no support to be found anymore for this program. So, it was not just a matter of getting data off the drive, but really getting the operating system running, so we could attempt to run the program and get the data from it.

Well, I broke out my trusty SpinRite CD (which I honestly hadn’t used in over 4 years), and within 2 hours…..WOILA! The OS booted, the user could log in, and open the program like nothing ever happened. Needless to say, I lectured them on the all the things they did wrong that lead to this situations and which could so easily have cost them dearly. I was happy to be able to offer assistance with your product, and will certainly recommend it to many more for years to come!!!

Thanks Steve!

Kevin Wilhelm,
Senior Systems Engineer

01/08/2015 — SpinRite helped move from spinning to SSD...
From: "JS Cube" via Shaw in Canada

Hello GRC peeps.

This is not a query, but a testimonial. I wanted to leave one on your site, but I couldn't find a link to do so. You may not care, but I 'd like to leave a testimonial anyway.

I had an old but working hard drive that had bad sectors in it, which made it fail any previous attempts to clone it. Your product was my last resort, and it saved me a LOT of time reloading everything into my new SSD. I was able to clone my old hard drive, no problem. (I'm sure you hear this all the time) Thanks!!!

I love your product. It's f@@n' awesome.

Best Regards, JSC

12/21/2014 — Spinrite fixes PS3s too!
From: Tim Green in Germany
Subject: Spinrite fixes PS3s too

Just for a change, SpinRite also fixes PlayStations: We have a relatively old PS3 that we use mainly as a DVD and BluRay player and media center. It started acting up recently, hanging on bootup and exhibiting other strange stutters and pauses at unexpected times. So I took out the hard drive, connected it to a PC and let SpinRite at it on level 2. Just over an hour later I put the drive back in the PS3 and booted up for a complete transformation. Not only has it stopped hanging on startup, but it now also feels generally snappier and smoother.

Thanks once again for the only really useful hard disk maintenance and recovery utility I have ever encountered. And also of course for all your insight, information and wisdom in the show every week, which I have listened to as unfailingly as you have produced it ever since episode 1.

All the best to you, Leo and all of both of your loved ones for a happy and joyful Christmas break and thanks again!

Tim Green

11/04/2014 — SpinRite recovers a Samsung SSD 840 EVO from the “Performance Restoration Software”
From: Chris Day
Location: Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire, UK
Hi Steve

I’ve been a SpinRite owner for several years now and used your excellent product from time to time on my systems & servers at home.

I recently heard about the problems with the Samsung Evo SSDs slowing down on your brilliant Security Now podcast with Leo (I’m a CISSP and learnt all I needed to know about crypto, hashing, etc. etc., to pass the CISSP exam just from listening to your podcast over the last 10 years). As my laptop has a Samsung SSD 840 EVO and Samsung have recently released the “Performance Restoration Software” to resolve the slowdown issues I decided to apply the update to my system. What harm could it do?? ;-)

I downloaded and ran the software following all the instructions (apart from the back-up as all my data is synchronised with my server and I have a base-build image of a patched Win 7 OS & core programmes as I rebuild my laptop every 6 months or so). So everything went smoothly, the drive firmware was updated, the laptop rebooted and the “Performance Restoration Software” went to work rewriting every sector on the drive and completed successfully. I left the computer, and the next day when I came to start work the laptop wouldn’t boot into Windows! I ran through several cycles of rebooting and not even recovery mode would work! So I grabbed my copy of SpinRite and ran a level 2 scan on my Windows drive. 30 minutes later SpinRite completed and its completion screen proclaimed all was well with nothing amiss. I rebooted the laptop and, as expected, it fired right up into Windows perfectly ;-)

Now, I can’t give you a great sob story of how my life’s work was on the machine without any back-ups and how SpinRite saved my children from destitution... but I CAN attest to the efficacy of the product, and tell you and your listeners that it’s the best $89 I’ve ever spent!

Regards
Chris Day
MBA BSc (Hons) CISSP MCSE CITP MBCS
Long time “Security Now” listener & 1st time contributor

10/28/2014 — SpinRite fixes “KBOD” ‑ Black Screen of Death
See: Original Blog Posting Link

Universal fix for windows KSOD (Oct, 2014)

Ever had your Windows installation inexplicably die leaving your computer unusable without a fix? I have – more times than I’d like to count. The last time this happened was yesterday when Windows 7 would only boot into a black screen with a movable cursor, also known as the blacK Screen Of Death. It was a serious case considering none of the safe modes or repair function in the Windows boot options would work; each option would universally end in either a KSOD or the classic BSOD after hanging on aswRvrt.sys during safeboot. After exhaustively eliminating all possible “regular” fixes that were available on the internet, I decided it was time for the big guns: Steve Gibson’s Spinrite.

Prior to trying Spinrite I first tried Kaspersky’s Rescue Disc 10 which was entirely useless for my case. After booting from the rescue USB dongle I would always get a “Missing Operating System” error in the boot screen. Not reassuring. I have long been a fan of Steve Gibson’s Security Now podcast, which is why I knew of the tool. I knew the tool would be one of the few things that might do the trick, so I gave it a shot. After about an hour running Spinrite 6, and a few reboots later, my Windows 7 installation was working perfectly as if nothing had ever happened. Spinrite saved the day.

TL;DR Spinrite saved my machine from a perpetual and otherwise unbeatable KSOD scenario and my guess is that if you are having KSOD problems then Spinrite is one of few things that might help you too.

10/05/2014 — “SpinRite fixes anything”
From: Bob Guarda
Location: Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Hi Steve,

Just want to say hello and that I am a long time listener of Security Now! and I am also a proud owner of SpinRite!

As we all know, we "computer guys" do the support for family and friends, and I am no exception to this rule. Here is a story for SpinRite! A Success Story that is!

A friend of mine has a Netgear ReadyNAS network NAS box. When he purchased it I set it up for him with 4 drives and RAID 5 configuration. At the time I told him that this is a very good configuration because should 1 drive fail, the information is still available. The odds of 2 drives failing, well that is super high.

This would help in keeping all of his pictures and videos safe.

To make it even more safe, I set up the built in backup utility of the Netgear NAS, to do a weekly backup to an external drive connected to the USB port.

One morning, he gets an email from the device saying that Drive 1 had failed, and that another drive was about to fail. The NAS box had turned itself off for protection.

He calls me up in a panic and I tell him no problem, the worst scenario is that he has "lost" 1 week of work. He then admits that the backup had not worked in months. He kept forgetting to tell me. Yikes!

He contacted Netgear for help and after a valiant effort from Level 2 and Level 3 support at Netgear, the "solution" was to get a data recovery company to save his data. It appeared that Drive 1, 2 and 3 were dead. When he enquired at a local data recovery establishment, cost was $ 3000 starting, and no guarantees. Yikes!

Then I remembered that Spinrite does not care what the file format is on the drive. Be it NTFS, FAT32, MAC OS, Linux, or RAID, it does it's magic.

So, I said to my friend "you have nothing to lose since you already lost it". He agreed, and let me attempt to save his data.

So, I did drive 1, 3, and 4 at level 2. Drive 2 was giving me the click of death, and the computer would not recognize the drive. I figured, well, it's suppose to be RAID 5. If I saved the other drives the Netgear box should rebuild it.

I replaced drive 2 with a new drive and placed the freshly Spinrited, (a new word?), drives into the NAS enclosure. I powered up the unit and voila! the RAID was starting to rebuild.

After the RAID finished rebuilding, all of his work files and most importantly, the videos and pictures of his 2 kids were available.

Thanks Steve for making such a great product.

And keep up the great work you do with Leo with Security Now! It is one of the best sources of security information there is out there.

Thanks.

Bob Ottawa, Ontario Canada

09/25/2014 — This short note (for a change!) says it all...
From: Matthew M. Power

I am a very satisfied owner of the SpinRite product.

Since my purchase, SpinRite has brought back THREE un-mountable drives! I firmly believe in this product. Because of SpinRite, people bring my their PCs when the other guys can't get it to boot.

Thank you!

Matt

09/10/2014 — Level2 “Look but don't touch” actually DOES save the day! Spinrite story
From: "Martin"
Location: Frankfurt / Germany

Hello Steve,

Thanks for answering my question about how Spinrite on level 2 actually fixes things on one of the last shows! Only a few days later I was witness to it actually fixing a huge problem by using level 2.

A friend's work PC refused to boot and his company's IT department gave up on it, without being able to recover ANY of his valuable data. Of course the backup had failed without him or any one else noticing and his data was gone... So we gave SpinRite a try on level two and it slowed down and started working a lot harder about a quarter of the way in, seemingly not to move any further. So my friend lost patience after a while and turned the machine off. I told him to not give up and just let Spinrite run for however long it takes. After about 8 hours of chewing on the drive, it finished, the PC booted again with complete data recovery. Hooray to SpinRite! Now I am his hero, but actually you are! Thank you very much on behalf of my friend who got all of his data back thanks to SpinRite.

Martin

08/22/2014 — “Spinrite saves a RAID array”
From: Patrick in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Steve,
I heard you discussing SpinRite and RAID arrays a few episodes back and thought I'd share a success story. I moved across the country about a year ago and during the move, a Synology disk array fell out of the back of the moving truck (while it was parked, but it was still bad). When I plugged it back in, all sorts of audible beeps, amber lights, and console messages indicated that one of the disks was past the point of repair and needed to be replaced. I took the damaged disk out of the array and put it into an old desktop then let SpinRite do its thing. When SpinRite was finished, I slipped the disk back into the array and it's been humming along for over a year now without any trouble. That's the second time SpinRite has saved me. Thank you for an amazing product and an amazing podcast.

08/12/2014 — “A resurrection at a funeral home”
From: Joe White in Honea Path, SC (honey-ah-path)

Hey Steve and Leo. Thanks for the show. I've been through the archives and digested them *all*.

I'm a funeral director at a small family funeral home, and being in a family business means wearing many hats. IT is one of my hats. One of our main workstations went down a couple of weeks ago, refusing to recognize it's hard drive any longer. I brought in my copy of SpinRite, let it do it's thing at level 2, and presto, it began working again. Our massive list of outlook contacts has been saved from destruction! I've imaged the drive just to be safe, but it appears that the level 2 scan has restored it to useful service.

Our thanks to you, Steve, for turning our mourning into gladness.
I think a site-license purchase is in order :)

07/28/2014 — Just a very short but sweet tweet
Ron Tyska (@rontyska) · 5:21pm · 28 Jul 2014 · Tweetbot for iOS
@SGgrc SpinRite revived a completely dead SSD, saved me $400. Thanks!

06/26/2014 — SpinRite recovers 3500 very important files...
From: "Steffen Zacher Nielsen"

Hello Steve

I've just purchased Spinrite, as the only tool which was able to solve the problem I had with a damaged hard drive. Spinrite was able to repair the drive so that I was then able to restore about 3500 VERY important files to another drive.

I must say, it is very satisfying to use a strong and cheap tool like Spinrite, and afterwards having such a good experience. Thank You very much, I can wipe off the sweat from my face and take a deep reliefing breath.

I've spread the good news of my experience with Spinrite to all my friends on Facebook, so perhaps your sales will increase in the future, who knows?

Steffen.

06/06/2014 — Erik Writes: pinrite saved me from going crazy
From: "Erik Ellsinger"
Location: Sweden

Hi

For a while now my computer has freezed up from time to time. It completely stopped responding to input, and the hard drive light was on constantly. It usually lasted for 10-30 seconds and then all was fine again. But lately it started to do that at least once every 5 min, which was driving me crazy because I got interrupted all the time with whatever I was doing.

I looked in the Win 8 task manager and saw that during the times the computer freezes the operating system hard drive is at 100% use. But the response time is 0ms and it's not reading or writing. But the hard drive has to be doing something, since the hard drive light on the computer is fully on. Has the hard drive encountered a sector it can't read and it's just retrying it until it gives up?

I've had SpinRite for a while now and thought I would give it a try. But I needed my computer for work so I waited to run it until school was over. After SpinRite was finished I booted Windows. And now, after using my computer for a day now I can say that the freezing problem is completely gone and cured and SpinRite saved me from going crazy!

Erik

05/25/2014 — Matt says SpinRite saved him and his team 100's of hours of work.
From: Matt
Location: Waterloo, Ontario

Hi Steve,

I'm a forth year Computer Engineering student at the University of Waterloo and SpinRite recently saved my team and me 100's of hours of work. During forth year, we have to come up with a design project that showcases what we have learned throughout our degree. My team had worked for over a year on our project, and had most of it stored on one member's Lenovo laptop. Three days before the project was due, his computer would no longer boot. We hadn't backed the project up in over a week, so it was critical that we got our data back. Since the system wouldn't boot, we tried putting the hard drive in an external enclosure to recover just the data. But the drive wouldn't mount on any of our systems. Desperate, I remembered that I had purchased a copy of SpinRite a few years back and had it burned on a CD at my apartment. I raced home to get the CD, and popped it into the laptop. 16 hours later, SpinRite had fixed and recovered the data in more than 50 bad sectors and we were able to pull the data we needed from the drive. Thanks for your hard work and for the excellent podcast.

-Matt

05/07/2014 — A Remote Control SpinRite Story
Dear Steve,

I've always been my parents tech support guy. When I joined the US Air Force, they stationed me pretty far away from home. Thankfully, I've always been able to VNC into their computers and get things straightened out. This week I was presented with a rather unique challenge. My mother called to tell me that their computer was throwing a bunch of disk errors in Windows. Fixing this problem was particularly difficult for two reasons. First, VNC wouldn't help them if their hard disk suddenly crashed. Second, I'm currently deployed to Afghanistan, where getting a good enough connection to VNC into their computer can be difficult. I knew that SpinRite might be able to fix the disk errors but would I be able to walk my parents (who aren't the most tech savvy people) though it over the phone?

Believe it or not, I able to get a good enough connection to VNC into their computer and make a SpinRite bootable image. I was also able to instruct my mother, over the phone, how to boot into SpinRite and start the repair process. She called me the next day and told me that SpinRite had fixed 12 errors and that their computer was back to normal.

I cannot tell you how much we appreciate your product. It really saved the day.

Jeremy Webb

04/28/2014 — SpinRite is finding lots of use in surprising SPEED UP of systems
From: Kyle Lyons
Subject: SpinRite Brings MacBook Pro Back Up to Speed
Date: Mon, 28 Apr 2014 08:34:27 -0700

Add me to the now typical MacBook success story. The system was taking 10-15 minutes to boot, and just as long to launch programs. The drive was reimaged to no avail. We hooked up the MacBook's drive to a Windows machine using an IDE/SATA to USB 2.0 adapter, mounted the drive to a VMWare Player DOS virtual machine, and ran SpinRite on it. Four hours later, the drive, and the MacBook, are running like new.

Thanks Steve!

04/12/2014 — Here's one where SpinRite improved his USB flash speed
From: Gary Foard
Subject: Spinrite testimonial
Date: Sat, 12 Apr 2014 07:50:22 -0000

Hi Steve

Long time listener etc. Just thought I'd drop you a note that you might like. I get pleasure from keeping old computers working and appreciate basic but good programs that have a purpose and do a good job. So I was very happy when I saw how SpinRite worked and behaved. I use standard Ubuntu nearly everywhere now since Windows M.E. ran out and was then relying on Firefox to keep me safe. I installed a full working Ubuntu OS on a USB thumb drive (not a live install ISO) so I have a fully patched computer rattling around in my pocket on my keyring. Very handy.

However once in a while it becomes very slow. So I boot SpinRite and run it on the plugged-in USB drive. I have to run it on level 3 to do any good but the difference in its speed afterward is unbelievable!

So well done Steve for keeping my portable Ubuntu disc running sweet.

Regards Gary Foard - TheBroadbandEngineer.co.uk

03/16/2014 — Subject line was: “SpinRite saves the Music”
Hi Steve,

I'm a music major in college and have a LOT of Sibelius music files on my computer. (Sibelius is a program for music notation/scores.) My computer's hard drive died a few days ago and I had a backup on an external drive that was a week old. But during that week I had made quite a number of changes to woodwind and percussion parts of two movements of a marching band show for my former high school. The changes were quite precise, and I had sat down and consulted a professor to help me adjust the parts to the students' skill level. In short, if I lost these changes, it would have been a nightmare to reimplement them.

So I bought a copy of SpinRite, which I had heard about on the podcast. It took three hours to finish, and then the computer booted successfully and I got all of my files back. I have since set up Crashplan backup so that all of these important files get backed up.

Next step: Choreograph the drill (peoples' positions on the field). Thanks for such an awesome product and podcast! I can now get back to real work, without worrying about damage to anything I do in future. SpinRite is truly magic.

Dick Snicket, New York

03/14/2014 — A short and sweet Tweet (to @SGgrc)
Jeff Harmon @harmon_jeff (10:41pm · 6 Mar 14 · Twitter for iPhone)
Thank goodness for #SpinRite and @SGgrc! Repaired hard drive enough to pull off 350GB of photo/video to a new drive.

02/25/2014 — When all else fails... SpinRite!
From: Nathan Huebener in Marion, Iowa
Subject: Spinrite violates the laws of physics
Date: 25 Feb 2014 01:33:22

My brother's laptop was very slow when booting and while being used. The hard drive was suspected as being bad, Norton Ghost tried to clone it and failed. It was not pretty. I ran Spinrite at level 2, and then was able to clone it to another drive. It cloned over perfectly and no bits were lost. After the new drive was installed and running, I opened up the bad drive and looked inside. Inside were tiny metal shavings. From what I understand, if a piece of dust goes between the head and the platter it's game over for the drive. Somehow, Spinrite was able to fix the drive just long enough to clone it.

Spinrite has also fixed my Intel X-25 Extreme 64gb SSD, it was showing some sector access times over 600ms.

Spinrite user and Security Now listener since episode 1,

Nathan Huebener,
Marion, Iowa

02/21/2014 — Four drives recover with one copy of SpinRite
From: Caleb Marble
Subject: Thanks

Thank you for a fantastic product, in the few months I've used SpinRite it has recovered four drives from failure, including one hard drive for a local non-profit whose VID (very important documents) dating back to 2002 were stored on a single shared NAS from the early 2000 era with no backups (I later introduced them to Carbonite, thank Leo for me).

Thanks again,
Another satisfied customer

07/02/2014 — A short and sweet Tweet (to @SGgrc)
Who: Matt in Atlanta
Date: Fri, 07 Feb 2014
Subject: SpinRite is the hero; I get the credit

Steve,

I started listening to Security Now 1.5 years ago and have been hooked ever since. During one of the episodes, you described how SpinRite worked and I decided to buy a copy to put it into my IT 'toolbox' on the off chance I ever needed it. Well, tonight was the night! I just took a Graduate Assistant position, doing IT support for a department in my school, and was setting up a KVM switch for a faculty member. Simple job, right? Computers were shut down, cables were hooked up, and power was restored, but....one computer was in an blue screen of death loop and Windows recovery wasn't working. I thought for a second, got a smile on my face, and pulled out my SpinRite CD. Off it went, on Level 2. After it finished, one sector wasn't recovered, so I crossed my fingers and rebooted the computer. The Windows 7 start up sound never sounded so good!

It is finally my chance to say thank you for this awesome product! It will (and should have) come first in line to fix my problems.

Thanks!

Side note, I decided to run SpinRite on the drive a second time and the one unrecovered sector was good! I presume that was just SpinRite doing its thing.

01/18/2014 — SpinRite is FAR less expensive than Recovery Services!
Testimonial from Philip Cooke:

I started my day with a blue screen of death, advising that I had an unmountable_boot_volume!!

Efforts by a Dell tech only lead him to the conclusion that we should reformat the drive and lose all my data. Nothing would recognize the drive and all of the chkdsk commands in the book could not even see it or result in anything but the same blue screen on every reboot. A Maxtor utility I ran advised me to return the drive for a replacement. But I couldn't.

After getting estimates ranging from $400.00 to $2700.00 to recover my data and trying numerous other "tricks" recommended by online chats, etc, I was fortunate to come across SpinRite. At first the glowing testimonials seemed just too good to be true and I will admit that I thought they may even have been "fake"!

So, I invested the $89.00, downloaded the file and fired it up. At first I thought that it was going nowhere, cause after 4 hrs it still said 2% complete. I figured I would leave it running and imagine my surprise when I came in this morning, saw the message that it had completed, it booted up, ran chkdsk and then started Windows!! All I can say is WOW!

Thanks you for taking the time to create this program. It's bad enough losing data, but I also saved the hours it would have taken to recreate my desktop, links, etc. Needless to say I am impressed!

Philip Cooke

12/31/2013 — A great way to end the year!
From: Avril Kelso Subject: SPINRITE SAVES A TOWER!

I work for an engineering team working on a major new highrise development here in Jarvis Bay and we had a power failure on the site office and it killed our site server with some of the engineering files on it which were being worked on at the time. After restoring power and rebooting the server we found that some of the files couldn't be accessed and I immediately suspected file corruption. I decided to call a friend and use his copy of Spinrite. Ran spinrite on level 4 for about a day on the disk and we retrieved and backed up the files saving us many weeks and tens of thousands of dollars in delays!

THANK YOU Steve for Spinrite and thank you both Leo and Steve for an great show. Keep up the good work!

Avril Kelso
Jarvis Bay, Australia

12/26/2013 — He calls it “a (day after) Christmas miracle!”
From: Jonathan Bailey
Subject: SpinRite Testimonial

I was at a friends house on Christmas Day when she told us the hard drive on her laptop wasn't working. It wouldn't boot and even booting it off of a Live CD didn't give access to the data on it.

The laptop was old and it had a lot of important stuff, most notably the photos of her son's wedding a few years ago and there were no known backups.

I took the laptop home and, using my receipt, downloaded a fresh copy of SpinRite. Immediately, on the first sector, it seemed to freeze and it spent so long at zero percent that I considered aborting it.

However, being a listener of Security Now, I knew to be patient and put my faith in the SpinRite gods so I went to bed with it running. I awoke to the green "SpinRite Complete!" screen. Took the CD out, rebooted and huzzah the laptop booted right into Windows!

It was a true (day after) Christmas miracle! Thank you so much for your great product, after four years of ownership, I finally get to share my "SpinRite saved me" story!

Now to get on her about her lack of backups...

From: Jonathan Bailey X-Location: New Orleans, LA

12/04/2013 — These sorts of reports really make our day!
From: “Dale Francisco”
Subject: GRC and SPINRITE saved me

Steve, I am a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer.

Today I restarted an older laptop of mine, a Dell Latitude D820 that had been running Windows XP for years. This morning it was locked up, so I thought to myself OK a reboot is required, but then the laptop gave me the dreaded Blue Screen of Death 3 times, even after the Last Known Good Configuration was selected -OH dear!.

It has a half a terabyte hard drive, and because this laptop does a lot of stuff in the background on my home network, I dreaded the thought of having to replace the laptop or hard drive and getting everything installed again.

So I decided to try the SpinRite disk I bought from GRC a couple months ago. After 2 hours it reported that sector 1-2-5 were unrecoverable. I was crushed. I thought my life is chaos now. I crossed my fingers and prayed.

When SpinRite finished and I checked again, SpinRite reported that there were NO unrecoverable sectors! What!?!?! - How can that be, I asked myself? But sure enough, on further inspection SpinRite reported that there were no abnormal sectors on the hard drive.

So there I sat, after a total of 3 hour, hoping that SpinRite would salvage more than my day. Once again I crossed my fingers and removed the SpinRite boot disk and then restarted the laptop.

Steve, thanks for such a great hard drive maintenance and recovery software! It took only 3 hours or so to recover this hard drive and SpinRite saved me many more hours of reinstallation and possibly relicensing software. From this day forward, SpinRite will be a part of my normal backup routine.

Dale Francisco
Fresno, CA

11/19/2013 — Here's another of those... “it just works” stories.
Subject: SpinRite Saves a Party

Hi Steve,

I am owner of restaurant and we have iOS app where people can order the food, and customer can pick it up. It stores data on server in basement, which was bad design choice... But anyway, we get big order for lots of food for party for customer, and hard drive of server dies. Long story short, SpinRite has saved drive and we make food and save party for customer!

Thank you for great product.

11/11/2013 — Here's a short tweet we received (all tweets are short!):
From: Jeff Beard-Shouse (tweeting as @clarkehackworth)

@SGgrc just fixed my wife's HD with spinrite. It took several times going over the bad sectors but it fixed it. Thanks.

Here's a link to the original tweet at Twitter.com, if you're curious.

11/06/2013 — Here's another tweet we received:
From: Outhouse IT, Inc. (tweeting as @OuthouseIT)

@sggrc "Unmountable_Boot_Volume" no match for @spinrite 6! Thanks again @GibsonResearch 35 Minute scan of a windows xp drive, full recovery!

Here's a link to the original tweet at Twitter.com, if you're curious.

11/04/2013 — SpinRite repairs anything that spins (and even SSD'd that don't!):
Subject: more spinrite praise

I've written almost this same message to you before. Spinrite has once again saved my Tivo box! There was a bad storm that blew through Pittsburgh the other night and we lost power. In the process, power flickered on and off rapidly for around 10-20 seconds. Once power was restored, as I feared our main Tivo box started crashing repeatedly. I reached for Spinrite for the second time on this box and it once again brought the Tivo back to reliable service.

Thanks for such a great product.

Rick Reynolds,
Pittsburgh, PA

11/01/2013 — Running SpinRite across drives allows often allows them to repair themselves.
Subject: SpinRite saved me once again and our high school yearbook!

Hello Steve, I am a high school student who really enjoys listening to you and Leo on Security Now every Wednesday. Love the depth you go into your topics! Anyway, I was working on a paper due the next day on my desktop and everything on my computer had been running very smoothly, as if nothing was wrong. I noticed that some updates were waiting for me to install. I didn't have time to install them right away, so I decided that I would let them install when I head off to school. In the morning it boots up just fine, but when I come home, I'm greeted by a screen that read "No active partition found." Normally I need to confirm to restart the computer, as it was sitting on the Windows Update screen when I left. I began to panic, as most of my schoolwork had resided on that computer along with some photos that I needed to copy to a flash drive for the high school yearbook. Trying to figure out what to do, I was Googling the error message. It turns out that others have fixed it through the Windows 7 install DVD. I didn't want to do that as I was afraid it might corrupt the drive even more. So I ran SpinRite. I selected my drive, and ran it on Level 2. I let it run. About an hour or two later, I was greeted that SpinRite found no errors. I was prepared for the worst then, as I did not back up this computer (even though I should) as we do not have the best Internet speed. I was afraid I was going to lose everything and let our yearbook staff down. I rebooted the computer, only to find it prompting me to select "Last Known Good Configuration or Profile 1". I selected Profile 1, and the computer started right up into Windows. I am in the process of backing up my data to a safe place and giving the important photos to our yearbook staff like nothing even happened. Thank you Steve for your amazing work!

David L
Omaha, Nebraska

10/31/2013 — THIS is the kind of Halloween note you WANT to receive...
From: “Caleb Allen”
Subject: Spinrite Helping Elementary School Children Read

Dear Steve,

I work at a small, poor elementary school district in California's Central valley.

About two years ago I convinced my boss to purchase a site license for Spinrite 6 to use in our shop, after I heard about it on Security Now.

Last week one of our Librarians told me of a problem where her library kiosk terminals were taking 5-7 minutes to logon. It was so bad, that most school children, many of whom were only given 5 to 7 minutes to run to the library at all, just abandoned the PCs. This was a huge problem, because these PCs are how the students look up book titles in the subjects their interested in.

After an hour or so poking around the multipoint server install (the kiosks are terminals all running off one host machine) I took it back to the shop for further work. The message stated that the User Profile Service was busy. I scoured the Microsoft network and internet forums trying to find a solution to the problem. In desperation, on the off chance that the problem might be harddrive related, I ran Spinrite on level 4 over the weekend.

On Monday morning I came in and tested the PC, and the login popped right up and took me to the desktop.

I returned it to the library, and now four students at any one time are able to do research and look up books thanks to Spinrite.

As a poor district, we've used Spinrite for a whole host of problems. It's gotten to the point where, in most cases, we just run Spinrite on level 2 before trying anything else. It's helped us keep our existing equipment running in the, sometimes, chaotic environment of elementary school classrooms. Kids are rough on the equipment, and our harddrives take a beating.

With Spinrite's help we've decreased down time, kept older equipment running, and recovered vital files such as grades, parent reports, and special education evaluations.

I don't know if a student in our district will someday be inspired because they had access to a PC we've gotten running again with Spinrite, but I like to think so.

Thank you so much for a great product,

Caleb
Turlock, Ca

09/22/2013 — He doesn't think this testimonial is “interesting,” but YOU might!
Hi Steve,

Can't offer you an interesting testimonial. I bought SpinRite from you two years ago and have used it to fix misbehaving drives on three occasions: The drives wouldn't boot, I ran SpinRite, the drives worked. Nothing fancy, just solid and reliable as advertised! I suppose it's like a monkey-wrench or a screwdriver. You don't use it all the time, but when it's needed, it's there and just works!

Eliot Lincoln
Jersey, Channel Islands, UIK

09/20/2013 — Fixes laptop batteries too? What?!
I have listened to every Security Now Podcast from the beginning and have owned SpinRite for quite some time - using it for occasional maintenance.

Recently my work laptop became unreliable. It would freeze at times. Most problematic is that it could not wake from sleep or return from the screensaver. Because I work in a medical office, my employer requires the machine to blank and lock after 30 minutes and I am unable to change this behavior. The other problem was that battery life was rapidly diminishing. The IT department had all kinds of ideas and wanted me to give up the machine for them to look at.

One evening before I left work I popped my personal copy of SpinRite in and ran level 4. It instantly entered Dynastat mode and began to churn, performing its data recovery operations. When I returned the next day it was finished. I rebooted and voila - all better.

It is quite notable that my battery is fixed too. I assume that the machine must have been churning the hard drive trying to read bad sectors and hence running down the battery. But now I have a new plan that I don't think I have ever heard you mention - before replacing a battery that seems to be getting old and not holding charge: run SpinRite! You never know.

Thanks Steve.

Scott Siege
Massachusetts

07/21/2013 — SpinRite sometimes creates problems... because it works!
Steve,

On Security Now: episode 305, you read a letter from a SpinRite user who had an ethical dilemma. He was a collector of broken computer parts, and a friend gave him a dead hard disk. That friend had “tried everything” and thought that the drive was beyond recovery. His friend said he had lost some very valuable photos, but didn't expect anything to ever recover them. Without telling his friend, the listener thought he would let SpinRite have one last go. Of course, it worked.

He also found the valuable pictures, and was surprised to see that they were intimate pictures of his friend and his wife. Now he has a dilemma: If he doesn't tell his friend, he friend doesn't get his data back; but if he does, his friend will know that he has seen those pictures.

Maybe the listener can tell his friend about SpinRite, get him to buy a copy, and give the hard disk back to him to run -- pretending that it is the first time it is run on the disk. :)

Sue Hoylen
Brisbane, Australia

07/10/2013 — A man of few words wrote to say...
My two-word SpinRite testimonial is to say “It works!” Thank you for a great product Steve.

Charles Miller
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico

03/20/2013 — SpinRite can also recover ENCRYPTED (TrueCrypt)drives, and SSD drives, as THIS posting shows:
By: Mel Highmore
GRC Observation: This wasn't a formal testimonial, but Wednesday morning, March 20th, 2013, my @SGgrc Twitter feed received a “mention” saying just “Thanks” and containing a link to a Tumblr.com blog entry. In case the link has aged and died, its text appears below.

“R” is for recovered… Spinrite to the rescue!

I was able to login again after running Spinrite using the level one setting on my SSD with Truecrypt installed. I verify I wasn’t missing anything from my last backup. As precautionary measure, reformat the drive and reinstalled the Operating System. Everything is working well again.
Apparently, Mel's TrueCrypt encrypted laptop would not boot or allow him to login. This is doubly tricky with a drive that has been “whole drive encrypted”, since from the outside, where data recovery software must operate, there is no apparent file system. The entire encrypted drive appears to contain pseudo-random noise. But SpinRite doesn't care, and works anyway, because it recovers WHATEVER was last stored on the drive—even if it's a solid state drive as Mel's was—regardless of what the sector contains. So as Mel found, SpinRite repaired and recovered a sector that was preventing his system from booting.

Mel's original posting contained a photo of SpinRite running on his laptop showing the green “R” recovered sector. In case his posting is no longer up, you can see that photo here. (As you can also see from the timing data in the photo, SpinRite was running at about 200 gigabytes per hour. We've seen it do 300 gig/hour, but mileage does vary.)

03/18/2013 — This one is a bit long . . . but it provides great background and perspective for a prospective buyer:
From: Richard Curtis
Subject: I've Written a Testimonial

... but couldn't find anywhere on GRC's or SpinRite's pages to submit one. So I decided to submit it to your Technical Support eMail. Please let me know if there's anything else I need to do.

Just Another “Miracle” to Add to Your Enormous Collection

I have a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop running XP Professional SP 3. In early September 2012 I got a BSOD on startup informing me that an essential system file in the boot process was corrupt. I had purchased the computer in 2008 so it was out of warranty. I paid Dell customer service $129 seeking their help in getting it up and running. The best they could give me for the price of admission was to tell me to reinstall the operating system.

Like everyone else I had thousands of pictures and my personal, professional, and financial life on that computer. Like almost everyone else I didn't observe a regular back-up schedule even though I own two 1TB Fantom external HD's. I wasn't about to do anything as drastic as a system reinstall before I could engage in data recovery, but I had previous experience with data recovery and knew it would likely cost me about as much as a new computer, if not a lot more. So I switched over to using my wife's new Asus laptop with a Core i7 processor and Win 7 while I pondered my approach to data recovery. Several months later, tiring of my monopolizing her new computer, she suggested I buy a new one of my own. Nice as her Asus is, I didn't want to pull the trigger on that kind of financial commitment either, so I began scouring the web to find recommendations for user controlled data recovery. Among several promising programs, SpinRite stood out.

I read absolutely everything on the SpinRite website about the program and how it worked. I'm no techie, but it all made sense. Impressed by Steve's background in computer hardware pre-existing the Internet and PC's, his long-term commitment to SpinRite for decades, SpinRite's nondestructive process, the glowing external reviews, the many user testimonials about not just data recovery but the restoration of failing drives, and SpinRite's money-back guarantee and lifetime updates, there was no question about the choice of program.

I paid my $89 lifetime license fee, burned SpinRite to CD on my wife's computer, and started it on my nonbootable Dell at 5 am. It finished its work nine hours later. Holding my breath I started the Dell up and wham! The Windows start screen appeared. It booted flawlessly and there were all my precious files. I'm writing this message on the Inspiron right now. All the previous warnings of impending doom such as hanging processes and stack dumps are gone. Add me to the family of true believers – SpinRite is the most reasonably priced absolutely essential program that every computer owner owes to him/herself to obtain and have on hand to stave off the inevitable failure of drives. I will be running it on the Dell, my wife's Asus, and my son's Dell (Vista) quarterly to keep them in shape. And I'll back up my files (I promise).

BTW -- SpinRite found comparatively few bad sectors, so I guess the drive is actually in fairly good shape.

Richard

03/04/2013 — There are MANY ways to run SpinRite, including within a free VirtualBox VM (Virtual Machine):

Hi Steve,

I am a long time Spinrite user. In Episode 386 of your Security Now! podcast, you mentioned a testimonial about a user accessing RAW data with SpinRite. I have had excellent results with a USB SATA/IDE dock, that I have run in a “DOS” VM in Virtual box. I dock a drive, and start the VM and I am off and rolling, all along giving me full access to my host system in the foreground while SpinRite runs in the background.

Testimonial: I saved a friends data, Larry, the owner of a golf shop, had all of his Tax info on his laptop. After letting his laptop sit for a little while (about 6 months) when they tried to boot up Windows gave them the “Un-mountable boot volume error”.

I knew right away what to do: I ran SpinRite for 30 minutes, and it completed the level 4 scan on the hard disk drive, error repaired. Then the system was able to boot without any trouble. Then, just to be thorough, I ran a disk frag analysis using the portable JKDefrag from portableapps.com. The drive was 95% fragmented. So I ran a defrag and gave the system back.

They are now able to do their Taxes, they are very thankful to me and you, the creator of this great tool.

Regards,

Gabriel Chartier
Loveland, Colorado

12/20/2012 — Most SpinRite users first purchase it for emergency data recovery. Then they use it to prevent any future trouble:

I've been a SpinRite user since 2008, when a Laptop with an encrypted hard drive failed to get past the Windows splash screen. SpinRite ran for about 4 hours and then laptop booted properly once again. Since then, I've used SpinRite for maintenance and have never needed it for recovery again.

Thanks so much,
Jason in Indianapolis, Indiana

01/13/2013 — SpinRite's simple slogan is: “It Works.”... because it really does:

From: Donn Edwards
Subject: Spinrite made a pensioner cry
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Dear Steve,

I'm a long time Spinrite user. On Thursday a family friend phoned me near to tears because her computer wouldn't boot properly, even after trying the “Last Known Good Configuration” option. She was starting to panic because there is financial information on the PC that will ensure she gets her pension this year.

I brought the computer home, booted up with Spinrite, and it soon found an unreadable sector, and did its magic to read and recover it anyway. After checking that everything is fine now that the sector has been fixed, I called her with the good news.

She just burst into tears. What can I say?

Thank you for a wonderfully helpful utility.

Best wishes, Donn

01/12/2013 — Sometimes even having backups doesn't help! Yikes!

Subject: SpinRite Testimony

I am a commercial video producer. I had a devastating turn of events: I caught my foot on the power cord to an external 3 TB drive and it crashed to the floor. Needless to say, it is history. But then the next day a large primary internal hard drive began to fail. There went my redundancy!

I was getting error notification upon boot up that the drive was failing. I immediately began attempts to backup the data, but the drive and Windows Explorer would seize up after only transferring one or two files, and when it would transfer, it was extremely slow. I spent a whole day and got virtually nowhere. Late in the evening, at my wits end, I finally purchased and run Spinrite. To my great relief, files started copying, and it is copying almost without a glitch if I don't try to move the files all at once. I am so relieved, I was certain this three year old drive was toast!

Spinrite retrieved irreplaceable files, and important video footage that would have taken days to hunt down and recapture from digital tape. Thanks for a great product.

Ron Finney, owner
North Woods Productions
Gig Harbor, Washington

11/12/2012 — Here's another SSD-repair story that shows your SpinRite investment will be useful for many years to come...

Subject: Spinrite Heals Stupidity!

Hi Steve and team!

After several years of using Spinrite for protective maintenance (without incident) it's now my turn to send in a “Spinrite saved the day” story.

I just bought my girlfriend a new Lenovo laptop, and yesterday I spent the morning setting it up for her. I had bought a 256GB mSATA SSD drive so that the laptop would have both the SSD for speed plus the large spinning hard drive for lots of data storage, so I had to install the mSATA and clone the system from the hard drive to the mSATA. Unfortunately, Crucial forgot to pack the teeny tiny little screw that holds the mSATA in place by its top left corner, and after searching all my drawers I found I didn't have one in the house. So I thought, it's nicely seated in the slot, all I need to is tape it into place with the sticky tape from the two little antenna cables and position them so that the cover exerts a little pressure on the SSD drive to keep it in place. Not smart. In fact, very dumb, because as it turns out the screw in the corner provides the electrical ground connection for the SSD.

Everything seemed to install fine, but the first time my girlfriend moved the computer while it was running everything froze. The movement had been enough to interrupt the tenuous ground connection of my jury-rigged installation, and on booting into the BIOS the mSATA SSD drive was no longer visible AT ALL. I realized immediately what had happened, and if I could have, I would have kicked myself. I was afraid that the drive and everything on it might be completely hosed.

Luckily, I'm also a Security Now podcast listener every week from the very start, so I already knew from all the other people who have used SpinRite on SSD's that it's possible to repair SSDs with Spinrite running on level 2. I found a screw, reseated and firmly screwed the drive into place and managed to make it visible again. Half an hour later, Spinrite had repaired everything on level 2 and the computer was as good as new again.

So, as you see, Spinrite can even heal the results of gross stupidity!

Tim Green (Originally British but located in Cologne, Germany)

06/14/2012 — SpinRite is seeing MANY successes, like this one, with NON-SPINNING solid-state (thumb) drives!
Hi, Steve,

I would like to share another SpinRite testimonial with you.

I recently took a 7,000 mile motorcycle trip from North Carolina to visit Colorado, Utah, and Arizona. During the trip, I was taking several hundred photos per day. Some were JPEGs taken with a point-and-shoot camera while on the move and others were RAW plus JPEGs from my Canon DSLR. Each evening, I was copying my camera cards to both my netbook (equipped with a 96 Gb SSD drive) and to a 32 Gb USB thumb drive, since I was quickly filling up my camera cards. Unfortunately, I soon ran out of space on both the netbook and my largest USB thumb drive. To conserve space (since the SSD was almost full), I began using only the USB thumb drive.

After returning home, when I went to import the USB thumb drive photos into Adobe Lightroom, I discovered that three folders (three days' worth of photos) were corrupted and unrecoverable. Remembering that you and Leo had previously discussed a testimonial during a previous Security Now podcast, where someone used SpinRite to recover some flash media, I broke out my copy of Spinrite (which I had previously purchased to pre-test drives for my Windows Home Server). I proceeded to check the USB thumb drive. After completing the scan, to my amazement, I found it had recovered my photos in the corrupted folders. I had some recovery messages about not being able to relocate some files since they were marked System and Hidden, but it had worked!

Like many others, I want to thank you for providing us this outstanding product. Also, a huge thank you for the time and effort you put into the weekly Security Now podcasts with Leo Laporte.

Bill Murray
Wilmington, NC

05/27/2012 — SpinRite "Consultant", "Site" & "Corporate" licenses are available for MASS maintenance & recovery.
From: "Christian Alexandrov"
Subject: When earthquake strikes, SpinRite strikes back!
Date: Sun, 27 May 2012 20:37:07 -0000
Location: Sofia City, Bulgaria

Hello Steve, I want to share a recent spinrite story. A few days ago, earthquake struck our country. Earthquake's magnitude was 5.8 on Richter scale. Bulgaria is in seismological calm area, and such earthquakes are rare. The last earthquake equal to this one was 167 years ago.

The earthquake, created a lot of work for me, and for spinrite. I go all over Sofia City, to help to revive hard disks, that suffered damage caused by the earthquake. Within the entire range I maintain, only 4 PC's were not damaged at all, regardless of the fact the PC's were working during the earthquake.

When the initial quake hit us, it was 5.8 on Richter scale, my own Lenovo ThinkCentre M58P PC, and my dentist's three Lenovo ThinkCentre M57 PC's were working intensively with their hard drives, yet they remained in PERFECT condition. This is the moment, when my dentist, could not believe his eyes. All of his computers, the three Lenovo ThinkCentre M57 PC's were doing late night autonomous scheduled disk defragmentation, when the earthquake struck. Defrag completed successfully and all diagnostics and file and data verification passed without one single error. My own Lenovo ThinkCentre M58P was doing off-line anti-malware scan. My PC passed as good as my dentist's PC's.

However on many places I had to go with spinrite as my tool of choice. A lot of hard drives, were damaged. Spinrite gave a lot of drives that special care they needed to make them good for work again. Some people called me to try and fix their hard drives before they ask for help from PC Repair services, others after.

Of all the range of PC's I maintain, I was the only one who used spinrite and brought over 180 damaged hard drives back to life, and it was a wide variety of hard drives, from 20 GB UATA 33, to 1 TB SATA 3 drives that were saved and brought back to life.

Needless to say there were a lot of U and R red squares on all drives on the first Level 4 scan and a lot of "B" icons on Second level level 4 scan, where the U and R icons were before. And also needless to say what large number of files were saved, and a large number of systems now work fine.

Suddenly I became a PC Hero for saving PC's and bringing hard disks back to life, and saving files, OS's. Work here is still in progress many drives still to fix, and many are taken care of, by spinrite. I do somewhere between 10 and 15 drives at a time, and many computers have 2 or 3 physical hard drives, in them.

Steve, once again, thank you for your great piece of software, a happy Spinrite user.

05/05/2012 — Original Link (via Twitter)
@sggrc - Spinrite brought my server back to life. Now to image it and get a new Hard Drive.

Obando Computing
@ObandoComputing

04/26/2012 — Computers act oddly when their hard drives are unhappy . . .
From: "Sam Fineberg"
Subject: SpinRite helped fix slow computers
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Two of the computers in our household, my son and wife's, were running really slow. My son's computer was even overheating and shutting off occasionally (primarily when he played Minecraft).

The computers weren't that old, so I was contemplating re-imaging them. In preparation for that, I ran a fresh backup on my son's computer and decided to run spinrite on the drive. As I was running spinrite I noticed the drive got very hot, and there were millions of seek and ecc correctable errors. (It's great that SpinRite shows SMART status while it's running!) Running on a similar computer that wasn't slow, there were very few seek errors and the drive stayed much cooler. So, I did an image copy of his drive to a new one, installed it, and the new drive is working great (faster and no overheating issues). After seeing that, I ran spinrite on my wife's computer. It also had millions of seek errors. Once again, I replaced the drive, and it solved that computer's problems too. So, in this case spinrite wasn't needed to fix a problem, but it led me straight to the right solution.
GRC Observation: This is a great example of SpinRite's use for preventative maintenance. Those drives were not happy and would have eventually failed. But by seeing the early pre-failure evidence of drives that were struggling to keep running, this asture user was able to “schedule” their replacement and avoid any chance of data loss.

04/16/2012 — If it “spins” SpinRite can likely fix it!
From: Ben Stool
Subject: It works great on Tivos

Just a note to tell you that SpinRite works great on Tivos! I read about it on your website and heard Steve mention it on Security Now. Our eight year old DirectTV Tivos were starting to act funny, so I pulled both 80 gigabyte Western Digital drives from them, connected them one at a time to a Windows XP SP3 desktop, and ran SpinRite at level 5. Interestingly, both drives reported no errors. However, when I put them back in the Tivos (after blowing an embarrassing amount of dust out of them) the Tivos are back to normal! These are first generation DirectTV Tivos, but we like them and do not want to pay the high premium to go to the new HD DirectTV Tivos that were recently released. SpinRite has let us keep our old friends going.

Ben Stool Dallas, Texas
GRC Observation: As Steve explains during the “What It Does” video explanation, running SpinRite on a drive SHOWS THE DRIVE problems that it has, and allows the drive to fix them itself. In such situations, SpinRite may not report any “recovery” . . . but the drive's troubles will have been cured.

04/05/2012 — Original Link (via Twitter)
@SGgrc: Lovin' SpinRite. Just saved my daughters homework on her failed drive. She's very happy too!

Brian Semingson
@bsemingson

04/02/2012 — Here's a user who actually appears to consider SpinRite's recoveries rather routine!
From: Todd W. Bertels
Subject: Several SpinRite Success Stories

Steve,

Good morning. I would like to share with you some of my successes with your Spinrite app. After listening, every week, to you and Leo for the past year I have decided to share some of these with you.

I have used spin rite on several laptop, desktop, and server hard drives and found that as long as the system recognizes the drive and there are no scraping sounds coming from the drive, it will most likely work!

Most of these are unremarkable, with the exception of two:

1. My server hard drive failed approximately three weeks after I installed a network attached security camera. The camera was configured to push a still image to the server via FTP once a second and overwrite the file existing file. This images are the same size, so it wore a "pot hole" in the drive and the drive failed completely. After running Spinrite, everything came back, except for the one camera image file. Truly amazing!

2. My wife handed me her iPod mini when we were at the gym. It was very sluggish and would hang for three and four minutes at a time before playing again for a few more minutes. We tried syncing it with the computer but that would fail after a few attempts. It had failed hard drive written all over it. I dissected the little gadget and removed the Hitachi micro drive, went to Fry's and got an CF/IDE adapter and ran it against Spinrite. After 45 minutes, the drive was running good as new!

Steve, your product is truly amazing! I have tried many other data recovery products and services over the years and they just don't work. Usually, you get back just enough data to make you kick yourself for not have better backups.

Cheers,
Todd Bertels

04/05/2012 — SpinRite can fix Apple products if you can briefly connect the drive to a PC
From: "Wm. Lorman"
Subject: A classic SpinRite story with an iMac twist.

Hi Steve,

I'm a long time follower of your work and customer since 2006. I just had a scenario I thought you and Mac users would appreciate.

One of my customer's iMacs would not boot and I could not get it back with two well known Mac tools that reported hardware problems. This happened when the customer forgot to configure the new disk they attached for Time Machine so they were 2 weeks since a backup.

I took the Mac to the Apple Store for a warranty claim and the “Genius” gave me a not so nice response when I asked for the bad drive back. He said if the Mac apps I used didn't work nothing would. I said I want to try SpinRite. He never heard of it and said there is no way a PC product could work on an Apple part or recover an Apple system.

I put the drive in a PC, booted SpinRite and I'm guessing you know what happened from there. SpinRite mode 2 got the drive back. I mounted it in an external enclosure and the Mac's Migration Assistant program got the user's whole world right where it was before the crash.

The user was very pleased to become one of your customers and will claims they will never forget to configure Time Machine again.

Sincerely,
Wm. Lorman

03/30/2012 — A frequent SpinRite using corporation went for a site license.  (Thanks!)
From: Gregg Dille
Subject: Process control site license/SpinRite

Steve, Just wanted to let you know...I work at a major chemical plant/refinery. (Check your recent purchases of 4 copies to match it up). We bought a single copy of Spinrite a while back, and have been using it quite successfully in our process control environment. Shortly after purchase, I sent a note to our group stating that we should acquire a site license, but the powers that be did not take me seriously. I have tried to advocate the use of Spinrite out here whenever I felt the situation warranted it, as we have some nodes that are really old and there is no plan to replace them. During this year's software license “true-up”, I brought it up again and others have since realized the value of Spinrite...so, we just made the effort to purchase 4 copies so that we would have a site license.

Thanks for all that you do.
A Note about Site Licenses: A single SpinRite license entitles end-users to use SpinRite forever on all of their own personally owned mass storage devices. (Remember, SpinRite also recovers and maintains solid-state thumb and SSD drives!) We ask corporations to own four SpinRite licenses — for a “site license” — which entitles them to run SpinRite on all machines at any one site. Additionally, a “corporate license” of ten SpinRite licenses entitles a corporation to run SpinRite on any/all drives at multiple sites — forever. (More about Site Licenses.)

03/14/2012 — A nice recovery story . . . and a lesson about periodic maintenance . . .
From: Ken Harthun
Subject: SpinRite Saves Student's Laptop
Location: Fort Wright, Kentucky

Hi Steve,

I first used SpinRite in 1999 (version 5.0) to recover a floppy disk that had been corrupted. Since that day, I have insisted that wherever I worked, the IT Department agree to make SpinRite available to me should the need arise. And in my private service world, I always insist that if SpinRite recovers the drive, my client purchase a copy. Needless to say, there have been a few sales as a result!

I have my own copy, of course and last summer I insisted that my new employer, Antonelli College, where I am the Network Administrator, purchase a site license. Well, that's a good thing because last week it saved a student's laptop and all of her Interior Design course work:

Windows was throwing all kinds of errors, the wireless wouldn't connect; she gave me a list of seemingly random errors that didn't seem to make a whole lot of sense, but they pointed toward a hard drive failure. I was about to attempt to back up the data and restore the system when it just completely locked up and I had to force shutdown with the power button. On restart, it just hung at the "Starting Windows" screen and would go no further. I could hear the drive thrashing about. Not good.

Enter SpinRite. I booted up from my thumb drive and ran it at level 2. After a couple of hours, SpinRite reported that it was finished, though no errors or bad sectors were found. On reboot, the system came right up, faster than ever, connected to the wireless and immediately began downloading updates. I completed the updates, ran a few tests and pronounced the patient healthy.

Needless to say, the student was ecstatic and thanks to SpinRite, I did my part to provide a "Superior student experience" (part of our vision statement).

Steve, SpinRite is absolutely the best hard drive maintenance and recovery utility on the planet and maybe in the universe! It's worth 10 times the price you charge for it.

Thanks for all you do.
Ken Harthun

P.S. I've never had a hard drive failure and I attribute that to my using SpinRite on my own systems on a regular basis.

03/10/2012 — SpinRite fixes what's wrong, and prevents trouble from occurring.
From: AL
Subject: SpinRite allows external hard drive to be imaged
Location: UK

Hi Steve, this is just my simple SpinRite story. I purchased it so that if anything goes wrong, then I'd have it to save me. I have experienced the gut wrenching feeling of having a drive which is broken, and at least with SpinRite nearby I can feel calm that it can often fix the situation.

I like using MS flight simulator to fly different planes and I have it installed on an external USB iomega hard drive. After a few minutes of playing the drive becomes pretty hot and I know that heat is not too good for a drive, nevertheless it seemed to keep working many times so I thought that probably the heat may not be so bad. I don't know what the max temp is ok to run drives so that they have a long life.

Then one day I thought that I should make a backup image of my flightsim drive in case it failed. I used Acronis TI to do this, but it told me it could not make the backup because there was a problem with the drive. I guessed that it might be damaged sectors. I ran SpinRite over it and it fixed one sector and then the drive worked completely again.

I tried using a fan blowing air over the external drive while I play the sim and it seems to keep it really cool. Maybe that will give it a longer life.

Thanks very much for your great product Steve.

02/08/2012 — Data recovery service companies charge hundreds to thousands of dollars. SpinRite is a LOT less expensive!
From: "Andrew"
Subject: SpinRite made the wife cry
Location: Las Vegas

Hi Steve: To get right to it, I have had a hard drive that apparently died on me about six years ago. Multiple attempts were made to recover the data as it had three years of family photos including one of my sons' births and two years of his infancy. The only other option I felt I had was to send the drive off and pay a large sum to have the data recovered. I figured maybe in the future I could do this as money was short. I've been a listener for about a year now and figured what the heck, lets try it. So I purchased SpinRite and began the recovery process. The scan ran for approximately TWO weeks (the drive was in really bad shape!). I assumed “its probably not going to work”. When the scan finally finished I connected it as a secondary drive to my PC, the drive appeared and all the data was now accessible!!! I immediately copied over all the data. I put together a slideshow of our precious photos and ran it, when my wife had passed by the computer and realized what had happened, the biggest smile and streaming tears came to her face. Thank you so much for saving us thousands of dollars and making a very memorable moment in our lives.
Buy it once, use it forever! Not only can SpinRite save hundreds to thousands of dollars when it allows YOU to do the job of a commercial data recovery service. But that's only the start of the use you'll be able to put SpinRite to . . . since it will be yours forever!

02/05/2012 — A “generic” data recovery thanks to SpinRite
From: Craig Thompson
Subject: SpinRite 6 saves client's files - again!

I've been using SpinRite for several versions now, and have managed to recover files from seemingly dead drives in the past, but this weekend's experience was, by far, the best. I'm a small, one-man computer biz, so quality, affordable utilities are a must for me and SpinRite has paid for itself over and over (and over) again.

A client dropped off an external HD that had died. She was crazed as she stored (instead of backing up) numerous important files to this drive. Losing it all would have been devastating. After trying a number of other quick-fixes, including a relatively simple Level 2 SpinRite scan, I finally opted as a last resort to turn it up to an 18-hour Level 3 scan. After running all day and night, I reconnected the drive to my system and voila! all of the folders and files suddenly reappeared!

I'm copying off now to return her files to her. I am ecstatic that I was able to recover this data for her, and she's ecstatic that she didn't lose everything! All due to the continually outstanding utility SpinRite. While the cost of this app may seem a little steep for small-time people like me, it is well worth the investment (and my clients couldn't agree more, given the results!).

Thanks very much Steve, and everyone else at GRC for such an outstanding tool!

Very sincerely yours,

Craig Thompson
CDT Computer Services

02/05/2012 — People who really know SpinRite aren't even surprised when it works . . .
Subject: You saved an artist's life/SpinRite Success

Hi Steve,

I'm an avid listener of "Security Now!", So when my younger brother Joe called, saying that his hard drive had carked it, I knew exactly where to send him.

He graduated last year and has been really motivated to get stuck into his artwork to kick off his career. His dead drive had potentially lost him years of work in progress, which would be his ticket to getting his career underway. But now that was all threatened.

He purchased, downloaded and ran SpinRite. But he had trouble getting it to his computer which wouldn't boot from a USB and didn't have a floppy drive. And the computer he downloaded it to also didn't have a CD burner! So he borrowed a USB thumb drive from a friend, copied SpinRite to it, took it to his friend's place to burn a boot CD there.

I actually wasn't surprised when he told me it worked! He's now backing up all his precious artwork to DVD and getting on with his new career.

Thank you for saving an artist's life work. Thank you for all your work on this wonderful product and for actually promoting it on your podcast.

Cheers,
Carl & Joe (Melbourne, Australia)

02/05/2012 — Sometimes what you WANT is to destroy all your data . . . securely!
From: Nick Bowen
Subject: SpinRite allowed me to wipe my data
Location: Walnut Creek, CA

A short time ago a friend brought me his computer for me to run DBAN on prior to him getting rid of it. It was an old Win 98 machine and DBAN would not run because the HD would just grind. I had purchased SpinRite a couple of years ago and hadn't used it yet, but I thought this would be a great opportunity. I ran it on level 2 and it fixed the issue. This allowed me to securely wipe the data before it was given away. Thanks for the Podcast and great product. ...Nick

01/03/2012 — He says “we're great”, but that's only because SpinRite is.
From: David Goldenberg
Subject: SpinRite testimonal

Hi Steve (and friends)

I've been a happy owner of spinrite for a few years now, it s my secret weapon in the technology trenches. I am the family tech guy, I help out at my kids school, and have my own part time business fixing PC's, training and networking. Spinrite is always within reach, and never lets me down.

Last week I had been preparing a laptop for a presentation for my ARES Amateur Radio group, I volunteered to get a new program, NBEMS (Narrow Band Emergency Message Software) running that sends text messages and email type communications over the radio. After several days, I had everything working great, and spent several hours getting screenshots for the PowerPoint I was to prepare.

One morning I went to start up the laptop, as I was getting together with another HAM to go over what I had and to get his machine working, I started up my laptop and got the dreaded BSOD and an un-mountable boot volume. I did not break a sweat, or even worry, as I knew from experience that Spinrite would save the day, and needless to say, two hours later the drive scanned and several sectors were repaired, the laptop booted and everything I needed was ready to go!

You're great! THANKS!

David Goldenberg
KJ6MCQ
Earlier SpinRite Testimonials
(for the truly skeptical!)
So . . . Does SpinRite TRULY work?

In a word . . . ABSOLUTELY! . . . and it will work for you.

The few samples above describe the successes that these people — like hundreds of thousands of others — have experienced with SpinRite.

You can wait until you're in trouble, and perhaps you'll be luckier than the hundreds of thousands of people who never used SpinRite for preventative maintenance until they were brought to the brink of disaster. But if that day comes, don't forget GRC.COM and SpinRite.

It works.

We'll be here 24/7 to help rescue your possibly precious personal computer data.

OR . . . you can become a SpinRite owner TODAY and head-off that future disaster before it strikes — as tens of thousands of SpinRite's owners do every day. Just occasionally run SpinRite overnight to keep an eye on your drives and prevent them from delivering a nasty surprise at the most inconvenient time. (Is there ever a good time?)




Click the left button to begin the process of upgrading or purchasing your own copy of the world's leading mass storage maintenance and data recovery utility.  Or click the right button to answer questions you may have about SpinRite's use and operation . . .

Click to purchase SpinRite v6.0     Click for answers to the most common questions

And if, by any chance, you need any more convincing that we know our way around data recovery disasters (or if you just want to read some more REALLY happy and true stories): You may enjoy reading a few of the reactions we received from users of our free FIX-CIH utility which rebuilt their hard drives after they were wiped out by the Chernobyl (CIH) virus.

(Some of these are really fun!)

In any event, thank you for your interest, attention, and consideration.




Jump to top of page
Gibson Research Corporation is owned and operated by Steve Gibson.  The contents
of this page are Copyright (c) 2016 Gibson Research Corporation. SpinRite, ShieldsUP,
NanoProbe, and any other indicated trademarks are registered trademarks of Gibson
Research Corporation, Laguna Hills, CA, USA. GRC's web and customer privacy policy.
Jump to top of page

Last Edit: Jun 10, 2016 at 11:03 (79.54 days ago)Viewed 116 times per day