https
Click for demo video Click for demo video
It works.hard drive data recovery softwareIt works.

Does SpinRite TRULY work?

 Please take a moment to read some of the unsolicited feedback we continually receive from SpinRite owners who are, as you can see for yourself, often amazed, stunned, and quite grateful for what SpinRite was able to do for them . . .

 Because it is based on solid science and proven engineering, SpinRite routinely performs miracles of data recovery for 1/100th the cost of independent third-party data recovery services. You just run it and SpinRite fixes everything that's wrong. Sometimes it will warn of more serious impending trouble:

03/16/2014 — Subject line was: “SpinRite saves the Music”
Hi Steve,

I'm a music major in college and have a LOT of Sibelius music files on my computer. (Sibelius is a program for music notation/scores.) My computer's hard drive died a few days ago and I had a backup on an external drive that was a week old. But during that week I had made quite a number of changes to woodwind and percussion parts of two movements of a marching band show for my former high school. The changes were quite precise, and I had sat down and consulted a professor to help me adjust the parts to the students' skill level. In short, if I lost these changes, it would have been a nightmare to reimplement them.

So I bought a copy of SpinRite, which I had heard about on the podcast. It took three hours to finish, and then the computer booted successfully and I got all of my files back. I have since set up Crashplan backup so that all of these important files get backed up.

Next step: Choreograph the drill (peoples' positions on the field). Thanks for such an awesome product and podcast! I can now get back to real work, without worrying about damage to anything I do in future. SpinRite is truly magic.

Dick Snicket, New York

03/14/2014 — A short and sweet Tweet (to @SGgrc)
Jeff Harmon @harmon_jeff (10:41pm · 6 Mar 14 · Twitter for iPhone)
Thank goodness for #SpinRite and @SGgrc! Repaired hard drive enough to pull off 350GB of photo/video to a new drive.

02/25/2014 — When all else fails... SpinRite!
From: Nathan Huebener in Marion, Iowa
Subject: Spinrite violates the laws of physics
Date: 25 Feb 2014 01:33:22

My brother's laptop was very slow when booting and while being used. The hard drive was suspected as being bad, Norton Ghost tried to clone it and failed. It was not pretty. I ran Spinrite at level 2, and then was able to clone it to another drive. It cloned over perfectly and no bits were lost. After the new drive was installed and running, I opened up the bad drive and looked inside. Inside were tiny metal shavings. From what I understand, if a piece of dust goes between the head and the platter it's game over for the drive. Somehow, Spinrite was able to fix the drive just long enough to clone it.

Spinrite has also fixed my Intel X-25 Extreme 64gb SSD, it was showing some sector access times over 600ms.

Spinrite user and Security Now listener since episode 1,

Nathan Huebener,
Marion, Iowa

02/21/2014 — Four drives recover with one copy of SpinRite
From: Caleb Marble
Subject: Thanks

Thank you for a fantastic product, in the few months I've used SpinRite it has recovered four drives from failure, including one hard drive for a local non-profit whose VID (very important documents) dating back to 2002 were stored on a single shared NAS from the early 2000 era with no backups (I later introduced them to Carbonite, thank Leo for me).

Thanks again,
Another satisfied customer

07/02/2014 — A short and sweet Tweet (to @SGgrc)
Who: Matt in Atlanta
Date: Fri, 07 Feb 2014
Subject: SpinRite is the hero; I get the credit

Steve,

I started listening to Security Now 1.5 years ago and have been hooked ever since. During one of the episodes, you described how SpinRite worked and I decided to buy a copy to put it into my IT 'toolbox' on the off chance I ever needed it. Well, tonight was the night! I just took a Graduate Assistant position, doing IT support for a department in my school, and was setting up a KVM switch for a faculty member. Simple job, right? Computers were shut down, cables were hooked up, and power was restored, but....one computer was in an blue screen of death loop and Windows recovery wasn't working. I thought for a second, got a smile on my face, and pulled out my SpinRite CD. Off it went, on Level 2. After it finished, one sector wasn't recovered, so I crossed my fingers and rebooted the computer. The Windows 7 start up sound never sounded so good!

It is finally my chance to say thank you for this awesome product! It will (and should have) come first in line to fix my problems.

Thanks!

Side note, I decided to run SpinRite on the drive a second time and the one unrecovered sector was good! I presume that was just SpinRite doing its thing.

01/18/2014 — SpinRite is FAR less expensive than Recovery Services!
Testimonial from Philip Cooke:

I started my day with a blue screen of death, advising that I had an unmountable_boot_volume!!

Efforts by a Dell tech only lead him to the conclusion that we should reformat the drive and lose all my data. Nothing would recognize the drive and all of the chkdsk commands in the book could not even see it or result in anything but the same blue screen on every reboot. A Maxtor utility I ran advised me to return the drive for a replacement. But I couldn't.

After getting estimates ranging from $400.00 to $2700.00 to recover my data and trying numerous other "tricks" recommended by online chats, etc, I was fortunate to come across SpinRite. At first the glowing testimonials seemed just too good to be true and I will admit that I thought they may even have been "fake"!

So, I invested the $89.00, downloaded the file and fired it up. At first I thought that it was going nowhere, cause after 4 hrs it still said 2% complete. I figured I would leave it running and imagine my surprise when I came in this morning, saw the message that it had completed, it booted up, ran chkdsk and then started Windows!! All I can say is WOW!

Thanks you for taking the time to create this program. It's bad enough losing data, but I also saved the hours it would have taken to recreate my desktop, links, etc. Needless to say I am impressed!

Philip Cooke

12/31/2013 — A great way to end the year!
From: Avril Kelso Subject: SPINRITE SAVES A TOWER!

I work for an engineering team working on a major new highrise development here in Jarvis Bay and we had a power failure on the site office and it killed our site server with some of the engineering files on it which were being worked on at the time. After restoring power and rebooting the server we found that some of the files couldn't be accessed and I immediately suspected file corruption. I decided to call a friend and use his copy of Spinrite. Ran spinrite on level 4 for about a day on the disk and we retrieved and backed up the files saving us many weeks and tens of thousands of dollars in delays!

THANK YOU Steve for Spinrite and thank you both Leo and Steve for an great show. Keep up the good work!

Avril Kelso
Jarvis Bay, Australia

12/26/2013 — He calls it “a (day after) Christmas miracle!”
From: Jonathan Bailey
Subject: SpinRite Testimonial

I was at a friends house on Christmas Day when she told us the hard drive on her laptop wasn't working. It wouldn't boot and even booting it off of a Live CD didn't give access to the data on it.

The laptop was old and it had a lot of important stuff, most notably the photos of her son's wedding a few years ago and there were no known backups.

I took the laptop home and, using my receipt, downloaded a fresh copy of SpinRite. Immediately, on the first sector, it seemed to freeze and it spent so long at zero percent that I considered aborting it.

However, being a listener of Security Now, I knew to be patient and put my faith in the SpinRite gods so I went to bed with it running. I awoke to the green "SpinRite Complete!" screen. Took the CD out, rebooted and huzzah the laptop booted right into Windows!

It was a true (day after) Christmas miracle! Thank you so much for your great product, after four years of ownership, I finally get to share my "SpinRite saved me" story!

Now to get on her about her lack of backups...

From: Jonathan Bailey X-Location: New Orleans, LA

12/04/2013 — These sorts of reports really make our day!
From: “Dale Francisco”
Subject: GRC and SPINRITE saved me

Steve, I am a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer.

Today I restarted an older laptop of mine, a Dell Latitude D820 that had been running Windows XP for years. This morning it was locked up, so I thought to myself OK a reboot is required, but then the laptop gave me the dreaded Blue Screen of Death 3 times, even after the Last Known Good Configuration was selected -OH dear!.

It has a half a terabyte hard drive, and because this laptop does a lot of stuff in the background on my home network, I dreaded the thought of having to replace the laptop or hard drive and getting everything installed again.

So I decided to try the SpinRite disk I bought from GRC a couple months ago. After 2 hours it reported that sector 1-2-5 were unrecoverable. I was crushed. I thought my life is chaos now. I crossed my fingers and prayed.

When SpinRite finished and I checked again, SpinRite reported that there were NO unrecoverable sectors! What!?!?! - How can that be, I asked myself? But sure enough, on further inspection SpinRite reported that there were no abnormal sectors on the hard drive.

So there I sat, after a total of 3 hour, hoping that SpinRite would salvage more than my day. Once again I crossed my fingers and removed the SpinRite boot disk and then restarted the laptop.

Steve, thanks for such a great hard drive maintenance and recovery software! It took only 3 hours or so to recover this hard drive and SpinRite saved me many more hours of reinstallation and possibly relicensing software. From this day forward, SpinRite will be a part of my normal backup routine.

Dale Francisco
Fresno, CA

11/19/2013 — Here's another of those... “it just works” stories.
Subject: SpinRite Saves a Party

Hi Steve,

I am owner of restaurant and we have iOS app where people can order the food, and customer can pick it up. It stores data on server in basement, which was bad design choice... But anyway, we get big order for lots of food for party for customer, and hard drive of server dies. Long story short, SpinRite has saved drive and we make food and save party for customer!

Thank you for great product.

11/11/2013 — Here's a short tweet we received (all tweets are short!):
From: Jeff Beard-Shouse (tweeting as @clarkehackworth)

@SGgrc just fixed my wife's HD with spinrite. It took several times going over the bad sectors but it fixed it. Thanks.

Here's a link to the original tweet at Twitter.com, if you're curious.

11/06/2013 — Here's another tweet we received:
From: Outhouse IT, Inc. (tweeting as @OuthouseIT)

@sggrc "Unmountable_Boot_Volume" no match for @spinrite 6! Thanks again @GibsonResearch 35 Minute scan of a windows xp drive, full recovery!

Here's a link to the original tweet at Twitter.com, if you're curious.

11/04/2013 — SpinRite repairs anything that spins (and even SSD'd that don't!):
Subject: more spinrite praise

I've written almost this same message to you before. Spinrite has once again saved my Tivo box! There was a bad storm that blew through Pittsburgh the other night and we lost power. In the process, power flickered on and off rapidly for around 10-20 seconds. Once power was restored, as I feared our main Tivo box started crashing repeatedly. I reached for Spinrite for the second time on this box and it once again brought the Tivo back to reliable service.

Thanks for such a great product.

Rick Reynolds,
Pittsburgh, PA

11/01/2013 — Running SpinRite across drives allows often allows them to repair themselves.
Subject: SpinRite saved me once again and our high school yearbook!

Hello Steve, I am a high school student who really enjoys listening to you and Leo on Security Now every Wednesday. Love the depth you go into your topics! Anyway, I was working on a paper due the next day on my desktop and everything on my computer had been running very smoothly, as if nothing was wrong. I noticed that some updates were waiting for me to install. I didn't have time to install them right away, so I decided that I would let them install when I head off to school. In the morning it boots up just fine, but when I come home, I'm greeted by a screen that read "No active partition found." Normally I need to confirm to restart the computer, as it was sitting on the Windows Update screen when I left. I began to panic, as most of my schoolwork had resided on that computer along with some photos that I needed to copy to a flash drive for the high school yearbook. Trying to figure out what to do, I was Googling the error message. It turns out that others have fixed it through the Windows 7 install DVD. I didn't want to do that as I was afraid it might corrupt the drive even more. So I ran SpinRite. I selected my drive, and ran it on Level 2. I let it run. About an hour or two later, I was greeted that SpinRite found no errors. I was prepared for the worst then, as I did not back up this computer (even though I should) as we do not have the best Internet speed. I was afraid I was going to lose everything and let our yearbook staff down. I rebooted the computer, only to find it prompting me to select "Last Known Good Configuration or Profile 1". I selected Profile 1, and the computer started right up into Windows. I am in the process of backing up my data to a safe place and giving the important photos to our yearbook staff like nothing even happened. Thank you Steve for your amazing work!

David L
Omaha, Nebraska

10/31/2013 — THIS is the kind of Halloween note you WANT to receive...
From: “Caleb Allen”
Subject: Spinrite Helping Elementary School Children Read

Dear Steve,

I work at a small, poor elementary school district in California's Central valley.

About two years ago I convinced my boss to purchase a site license for Spinrite 6 to use in our shop, after I heard about it on Security Now.

Last week one of our Librarians told me of a problem where her library kiosk terminals were taking 5-7 minutes to logon. It was so bad, that most school children, many of whom were only given 5 to 7 minutes to run to the library at all, just abandoned the PCs. This was a huge problem, because these PCs are how the students look up book titles in the subjects their interested in.

After an hour or so poking around the multipoint server install (the kiosks are terminals all running off one host machine) I took it back to the shop for further work. The message stated that the User Profile Service was busy. I scoured the Microsoft network and internet forums trying to find a solution to the problem. In desperation, on the off chance that the problem might be harddrive related, I ran Spinrite on level 4 over the weekend.

On Monday morning I came in and tested the PC, and the login popped right up and took me to the desktop.

I returned it to the library, and now four students at any one time are able to do research and look up books thanks to Spinrite.

As a poor district, we've used Spinrite for a whole host of problems. It's gotten to the point where, in most cases, we just run Spinrite on level 2 before trying anything else. It's helped us keep our existing equipment running in the, sometimes, chaotic environment of elementary school classrooms. Kids are rough on the equipment, and our harddrives take a beating.

With Spinrite's help we've decreased down time, kept older equipment running, and recovered vital files such as grades, parent reports, and special education evaluations.

I don't know if a student in our district will someday be inspired because they had access to a PC we've gotten running again with Spinrite, but I like to think so.

Thank you so much for a great product,

Caleb
Turlock, Ca

09/22/2013 — He doesn't think this testimonial is “interesting,” but YOU might!
Hi Steve,

Can't offer you an interesting testimonial. I bought SpinRite from you two years ago and have used it to fix misbehaving drives on three occasions: The drives wouldn't boot, I ran SpinRite, the drives worked. Nothing fancy, just solid and reliable as advertised! I suppose it's like a monkey-wrench or a screwdriver. You don't use it all the time, but when it's needed, it's there and just works!

Eliot Lincoln
Jersey, Channel Islands, UIK

09/20/2013 — Fixes laptop batteries too? What?!
I have listened to every Security Now Podcast from the beginning and have owned SpinRite for quite some time - using it for occasional maintenance.

Recently my work laptop became unreliable. It would freeze at times. Most problematic is that it could not wake from sleep or return from the screensaver. Because I work in a medical office, my employer requires the machine to blank and lock after 30 minutes and I am unable to change this behavior. The other problem was that battery life was rapidly diminishing. The IT department had all kinds of ideas and wanted me to give up the machine for them to look at.

One evening before I left work I popped my personal copy of SpinRite in and ran level 4. It instantly entered Dynastat mode and began to churn, performing its data recovery operations. When I returned the next day it was finished. I rebooted and voila - all better.

It is quite notable that my battery is fixed too. I assume that the machine must have been churning the hard drive trying to read bad sectors and hence running down the battery. But now I have a new plan that I don't think I have ever heard you mention - before replacing a battery that seems to be getting old and not holding charge: run SpinRite! You never know.

Thanks Steve.

Scott Siege
Massachusetts

07/21/2013 — SpinRite sometimes creates problems... because it works!
Steve,

On Security Now: episode 305, you read a letter from a SpinRite user who had an ethical dilemma. He was a collector of broken computer parts, and a friend gave him a dead hard disk. That friend had “tried everything” and thought that the drive was beyond recovery. His friend said he had lost some very valuable photos, but didn't expect anything to ever recover them. Without telling his friend, the listener thought he would let SpinRite have one last go. Of course, it worked.

He also found the valuable pictures, and was surprised to see that they were intimate pictures of his friend and his wife. Now he has a dilemma: If he doesn't tell his friend, he friend doesn't get his data back; but if he does, his friend will know that he has seen those pictures.

Maybe the listener can tell his friend about SpinRite, get him to buy a copy, and give the hard disk back to him to run -- pretending that it is the first time it is run on the disk. :)

Sue Hoylen
Brisbane, Australia

07/10/2013 — A man of few words wrote to say...
My two-word SpinRite testimonial is to say “It works!” Thank you for a great product Steve.

Charles Miller
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico

03/20/2013 — SpinRite can also recover ENCRYPTED (TrueCrypt)drives, and SSD drives, as THIS posting shows:
By: Mel Highmore
GRC Observation: This wasn't a formal testimonial, but Wednesday morning, March 20th, 2013, my @SGgrc Twitter feed received a “mention” saying just “Thanks” and containing a link to a Tumblr.com blog entry. In case the link has aged and died, its text appears below.

“R” is for recovered… Spinrite to the rescue!

I was able to login again after running Spinrite using the level one setting on my SSD with Truecrypt installed. I verify I wasn’t missing anything from my last backup. As precautionary measure, reformat the drive and reinstalled the Operating System. Everything is working well again.
Apparently, Mel's TrueCrypt encrypted laptop would not boot or allow him to login. This is doubly tricky with a drive that has been “whole drive encrypted”, since from the outside, where data recovery software must operate, there is no apparent file system. The entire encrypted drive appears to contain pseudo-random noise. But SpinRite doesn't care, and works anyway, because it recovers WHATEVER was last stored on the drive—even if it's a solid state drive as Mel's was—regardless of what the sector contains. So as Mel found, SpinRite repaired and recovered a sector that was preventing his system from booting.

Mel's original posting contained a photo of SpinRite running on his laptop showing the green “R” recovered sector. In case his posting is no longer up, you can see that photo here. (As you can also see from the timing data in the photo, SpinRite was running at about 200 gigabytes per hour. We've seen it do 300 gig/hour, but mileage does vary.)

03/18/2013 — This one is a bit long . . . but it provides great background and perspective for a prospective buyer:
From: Richard Curtis
Subject: I've Written a Testimonial

... but couldn't find anywhere on GRC's or SpinRite's pages to submit one. So I decided to submit it to your Technical Support eMail. Please let me know if there's anything else I need to do.

Just Another “Miracle” to Add to Your Enormous Collection

I have a Dell Inspiron 1520 laptop running XP Professional SP 3. In early September 2012 I got a BSOD on startup informing me that an essential system file in the boot process was corrupt. I had purchased the computer in 2008 so it was out of warranty. I paid Dell customer service $129 seeking their help in getting it up and running. The best they could give me for the price of admission was to tell me to reinstall the operating system.

Like everyone else I had thousands of pictures and my personal, professional, and financial life on that computer. Like almost everyone else I didn't observe a regular back-up schedule even though I own two 1TB Fantom external HD's. I wasn't about to do anything as drastic as a system reinstall before I could engage in data recovery, but I had previous experience with data recovery and knew it would likely cost me about as much as a new computer, if not a lot more. So I switched over to using my wife's new Asus laptop with a Core i7 processor and Win 7 while I pondered my approach to data recovery. Several months later, tiring of my monopolizing her new computer, she suggested I buy a new one of my own. Nice as her Asus is, I didn't want to pull the trigger on that kind of financial commitment either, so I began scouring the web to find recommendations for user controlled data recovery. Among several promising programs, SpinRite stood out.

I read absolutely everything on the SpinRite website about the program and how it worked. I'm no techie, but it all made sense. Impressed by Steve's background in computer hardware pre-existing the Internet and PC's, his long-term commitment to SpinRite for decades, SpinRite's nondestructive process, the glowing external reviews, the many user testimonials about not just data recovery but the restoration of failing drives, and SpinRite's money-back guarantee and lifetime updates, there was no question about the choice of program.

I paid my $89 lifetime license fee, burned SpinRite to CD on my wife's computer, and started it on my nonbootable Dell at 5 am. It finished its work nine hours later. Holding my breath I started the Dell up and wham! The Windows start screen appeared. It booted flawlessly and there were all my precious files. I'm writing this message on the Inspiron right now. All the previous warnings of impending doom such as hanging processes and stack dumps are gone. Add me to the family of true believers – SpinRite is the most reasonably priced absolutely essential program that every computer owner owes to him/herself to obtain and have on hand to stave off the inevitable failure of drives. I will be running it on the Dell, my wife's Asus, and my son's Dell (Vista) quarterly to keep them in shape. And I'll back up my files (I promise).

BTW -- SpinRite found comparatively few bad sectors, so I guess the drive is actually in fairly good shape.

Richard

03/04/2013 — There are MANY ways to run SpinRite, including within a free VirtualBox VM (Virtual Machine):

Hi Steve,

I am a long time Spinrite user. In Episode 386 of your Security Now! podcast, you mentioned a testimonial about a user accessing RAW data with SpinRite. I have had excellent results with a USB SATA/IDE dock, that I have run in a “DOS” VM in Virtual box. I dock a drive, and start the VM and I am off and rolling, all along giving me full access to my host system in the foreground while SpinRite runs in the background.

Testimonial: I saved a friends data, Larry, the owner of a golf shop, had all of his Tax info on his laptop. After letting his laptop sit for a little while (about 6 months) when they tried to boot up Windows gave them the “Un-mountable boot volume error”.

I knew right away what to do: I ran SpinRite for 30 minutes, and it completed the level 4 scan on the hard disk drive, error repaired. Then the system was able to boot without any trouble. Then, just to be thorough, I ran a disk frag analysis using the portable JKDefrag from portableapps.com. The drive was 95% fragmented. So I ran a defrag and gave the system back.

They are now able to do their Taxes, they are very thankful to me and you, the creator of this great tool.

Regards,

Gabriel Chartier
Loveland, Colorado

12/20/2012 — Most SpinRite users first purchase it for emergency data recovery. Then they use it to prevent any future trouble:

I've been a SpinRite user since 2008, when a Laptop with an encrypted hard drive failed to get past the Windows splash screen. SpinRite ran for about 4 hours and then laptop booted properly once again. Since then, I've used SpinRite for maintenance and have never needed it for recovery again.

Thanks so much,
Jason in Indianapolis, Indiana

01/13/2013 — SpinRite's simple slogan is: “It Works.”... because it really does:

From: Donn Edwards
Subject: Spinrite made a pensioner cry
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Dear Steve,

I'm a long time Spinrite user. On Thursday a family friend phoned me near to tears because her computer wouldn't boot properly, even after trying the “Last Known Good Configuration” option. She was starting to panic because there is financial information on the PC that will ensure she gets her pension this year.

I brought the computer home, booted up with Spinrite, and it soon found an unreadable sector, and did its magic to read and recover it anyway. After checking that everything is fine now that the sector has been fixed, I called her with the good news.

She just burst into tears. What can I say?

Thank you for a wonderfully helpful utility.

Best wishes, Donn

01/12/2013 — Sometimes even having backups doesn't help! Yikes!

Subject: SpinRite Testimony

I am a commercial video producer. I had a devastating turn of events: I caught my foot on the power cord to an external 3 TB drive and it crashed to the floor. Needless to say, it is history. But then the next day a large primary internal hard drive began to fail. There went my redundancy!

I was getting error notification upon boot up that the drive was failing. I immediately began attempts to backup the data, but the drive and Windows Explorer would seize up after only transferring one or two files, and when it would transfer, it was extremely slow. I spent a whole day and got virtually nowhere. Late in the evening, at my wits end, I finally purchased and run Spinrite. To my great relief, files started copying, and it is copying almost without a glitch if I don't try to move the files all at once. I am so relieved, I was certain this three year old drive was toast!

Spinrite retrieved irreplaceable files, and important video footage that would have taken days to hunt down and recapture from digital tape. Thanks for a great product.

Ron Finney, owner
North Woods Productions
Gig Harbor, Washington

11/12/2012 — Here's another SSD-repair story that shows your SpinRite investment will be useful for many years to come...

Subject: Spinrite Heals Stupidity!

Hi Steve and team!

After several years of using Spinrite for protective maintenance (without incident) it's now my turn to send in a “Spinrite saved the day” story.

I just bought my girlfriend a new Lenovo laptop, and yesterday I spent the morning setting it up for her. I had bought a 256GB mSATA SSD drive so that the laptop would have both the SSD for speed plus the large spinning hard drive for lots of data storage, so I had to install the mSATA and clone the system from the hard drive to the mSATA. Unfortunately, Crucial forgot to pack the teeny tiny little screw that holds the mSATA in place by its top left corner, and after searching all my drawers I found I didn't have one in the house. So I thought, it's nicely seated in the slot, all I need to is tape it into place with the sticky tape from the two little antenna cables and position them so that the cover exerts a little pressure on the SSD drive to keep it in place. Not smart. In fact, very dumb, because as it turns out the screw in the corner provides the electrical ground connection for the SSD.

Everything seemed to install fine, but the first time my girlfriend moved the computer while it was running everything froze. The movement had been enough to interrupt the tenuous ground connection of my jury-rigged installation, and on booting into the BIOS the mSATA SSD drive was no longer visible AT ALL. I realized immediately what had happened, and if I could have, I would have kicked myself. I was afraid that the drive and everything on it might be completely hosed.

Luckily, I'm also a Security Now podcast listener every week from the very start, so I already knew from all the other people who have used SpinRite on SSD's that it's possible to repair SSDs with Spinrite running on level 2. I found a screw, reseated and firmly screwed the drive into place and managed to make it visible again. Half an hour later, Spinrite had repaired everything on level 2 and the computer was as good as new again.

So, as you see, Spinrite can even heal the results of gross stupidity!

Tim Green (Originally British but located in Cologne, Germany)

06/14/2012 — SpinRite is seeing MANY successes, like this one, with NON-SPINNING solid-state (thumb) drives!
Hi, Steve,

I would like to share another SpinRite testimonial with you.

I recently took a 7,000 mile motorcycle trip from North Carolina to visit Colorado, Utah, and Arizona. During the trip, I was taking several hundred photos per day. Some were JPEGs taken with a point-and-shoot camera while on the move and others were RAW plus JPEGs from my Canon DSLR. Each evening, I was copying my camera cards to both my netbook (equipped with a 96 Gb SSD drive) and to a 32 Gb USB thumb drive, since I was quickly filling up my camera cards. Unfortunately, I soon ran out of space on both the netbook and my largest USB thumb drive. To conserve space (since the SSD was almost full), I began using only the USB thumb drive.

After returning home, when I went to import the USB thumb drive photos into Adobe Lightroom, I discovered that three folders (three days' worth of photos) were corrupted and unrecoverable. Remembering that you and Leo had previously discussed a testimonial during a previous Security Now podcast, where someone used SpinRite to recover some flash media, I broke out my copy of Spinrite (which I had previously purchased to pre-test drives for my Windows Home Server). I proceeded to check the USB thumb drive. After completing the scan, to my amazement, I found it had recovered my photos in the corrupted folders. I had some recovery messages about not being able to relocate some files since they were marked System and Hidden, but it had worked!

Like many others, I want to thank you for providing us this outstanding product. Also, a huge thank you for the time and effort you put into the weekly Security Now podcasts with Leo Laporte.

Bill Murray
Wilmington, NC

05/27/2012 — SpinRite "Consultant", "Site" & "Corporate" licenses are available for MASS maintenance & recovery.
From: "Christian Alexandrov"
Subject: When earthquake strikes, SpinRite strikes back!
Date: Sun, 27 May 2012 20:37:07 -0000
Location: Sofia City, Bulgaria

Hello Steve, I want to share a recent spinrite story. A few days ago, earthquake struck our country. Earthquake's magnitude was 5.8 on Richter scale. Bulgaria is in seismological calm area, and such earthquakes are rare. The last earthquake equal to this one was 167 years ago.

The earthquake, created a lot of work for me, and for spinrite. I go all over Sofia City, to help to revive hard disks, that suffered damage caused by the earthquake. Within the entire range I maintain, only 4 PC's were not damaged at all, regardless of the fact the PC's were working during the earthquake.

When the initial quake hit us, it was 5.8 on Richter scale, my own Lenovo ThinkCentre M58P PC, and my dentist's three Lenovo ThinkCentre M57 PC's were working intensively with their hard drives, yet they remained in PERFECT condition. This is the moment, when my dentist, could not believe his eyes. All of his computers, the three Lenovo ThinkCentre M57 PC's were doing late night autonomous scheduled disk defragmentation, when the earthquake struck. Defrag completed successfully and all diagnostics and file and data verification passed without one single error. My own Lenovo ThinkCentre M58P was doing off-line anti-malware scan. My PC passed as good as my dentist's PC's.

However on many places I had to go with spinrite as my tool of choice. A lot of hard drives, were damaged. Spinrite gave a lot of drives that special care they needed to make them good for work again. Some people called me to try and fix their hard drives before they ask for help from PC Repair services, others after.

Of all the range of PC's I maintain, I was the only one who used spinrite and brought over 180 damaged hard drives back to life, and it was a wide variety of hard drives, from 20 GB UATA 33, to 1 TB SATA 3 drives that were saved and brought back to life.

Needless to say there were a lot of U and R red squares on all drives on the first Level 4 scan and a lot of "B" icons on Second level level 4 scan, where the U and R icons were before. And also needless to say what large number of files were saved, and a large number of systems now work fine.

Suddenly I became a PC Hero for saving PC's and bringing hard disks back to life, and saving files, OS's. Work here is still in progress many drives still to fix, and many are taken care of, by spinrite. I do somewhere between 10 and 15 drives at a time, and many computers have 2 or 3 physical hard drives, in them.

Steve, once again, thank you for your great piece of software, a happy Spinrite user.

05/05/2012 — Original Link (via Twitter)
@sggrc - Spinrite brought my server back to life. Now to image it and get a new Hard Drive.

Obando Computing
@ObandoComputing

04/26/2012 — Computers act oddly when their hard drives are unhappy . . .
From: "Sam Fineberg"
Subject: SpinRite helped fix slow computers
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Two of the computers in our household, my son and wife's, were running really slow. My son's computer was even overheating and shutting off occasionally (primarily when he played Minecraft).

The computers weren't that old, so I was contemplating re-imaging them. In preparation for that, I ran a fresh backup on my son's computer and decided to run spinrite on the drive. As I was running spinrite I noticed the drive got very hot, and there were millions of seek and ecc correctable errors. (It's great that SpinRite shows SMART status while it's running!) Running on a similar computer that wasn't slow, there were very few seek errors and the drive stayed much cooler. So, I did an image copy of his drive to a new one, installed it, and the new drive is working great (faster and no overheating issues). After seeing that, I ran spinrite on my wife's computer. It also had millions of seek errors. Once again, I replaced the drive, and it solved that computer's problems too. So, in this case spinrite wasn't needed to fix a problem, but it led me straight to the right solution.
GRC Observation: This is a great example of SpinRite's use for preventative maintenance. Those drives were not happy and would have eventually failed. But by seeing the early pre-failure evidence of drives that were struggling to keep running, this asture user was able to “schedule” their replacement and avoid any chance of data loss.

04/16/2012 — If it “spins” SpinRite can likely fix it!
From: Ben Stool
Subject: It works great on Tivos

Just a note to tell you that SpinRite works great on Tivos! I read about it on your website and heard Steve mention it on Security Now. Our eight year old DirectTV Tivos were starting to act funny, so I pulled both 80 gigabyte Western Digital drives from them, connected them one at a time to a Windows XP SP3 desktop, and ran SpinRite at level 5. Interestingly, both drives reported no errors. However, when I put them back in the Tivos (after blowing an embarrassing amount of dust out of them) the Tivos are back to normal! These are first generation DirectTV Tivos, but we like them and do not want to pay the high premium to go to the new HD DirectTV Tivos that were recently released. SpinRite has let us keep our old friends going.

Ben Stool Dallas, Texas
GRC Observation: As Steve explains during the “What It Does” video explanation, running SpinRite on a drive SHOWS THE DRIVE problems that it has, and allows the drive to fix them itself. In such situations, SpinRite may not report any “recovery” . . . but the drive's troubles will have been cured.

04/05/2012 — Original Link (via Twitter)
@SGgrc: Lovin' SpinRite. Just saved my daughters homework on her failed drive. She's very happy too!

Brian Semingson
@bsemingson

04/02/2012 — Here's a user who actually appears to consider SpinRite's recoveries rather routine!
From: Todd W. Bertels
Subject: Several SpinRite Success Stories

Steve,

Good morning. I would like to share with you some of my successes with your Spinrite app. After listening, every week, to you and Leo for the past year I have decided to share some of these with you.

I have used spin rite on several laptop, desktop, and server hard drives and found that as long as the system recognizes the drive and there are no scraping sounds coming from the drive, it will most likely work!

Most of these are unremarkable, with the exception of two:

1. My server hard drive failed approximately three weeks after I installed a network attached security camera. The camera was configured to push a still image to the server via FTP once a second and overwrite the file existing file. This images are the same size, so it wore a "pot hole" in the drive and the drive failed completely. After running Spinrite, everything came back, except for the one camera image file. Truly amazing!

2. My wife handed me her iPod mini when we were at the gym. It was very sluggish and would hang for three and four minutes at a time before playing again for a few more minutes. We tried syncing it with the computer but that would fail after a few attempts. It had failed hard drive written all over it. I dissected the little gadget and removed the Hitachi micro drive, went to Fry's and got an CF/IDE adapter and ran it against Spinrite. After 45 minutes, the drive was running good as new!

Steve, your product is truly amazing! I have tried many other data recovery products and services over the years and they just don't work. Usually, you get back just enough data to make you kick yourself for not have better backups.

Cheers,
Todd Bertels

04/05/2012 — SpinRite can fix Apple products if you can briefly connect the drive to a PC
From: "Wm. Lorman"
Subject: A classic SpinRite story with an iMac twist.

Hi Steve,

I'm a long time follower of your work and customer since 2006. I just had a scenario I thought you and Mac users would appreciate.

One of my customer's iMacs would not boot and I could not get it back with two well known Mac tools that reported hardware problems. This happened when the customer forgot to configure the new disk they attached for Time Machine so they were 2 weeks since a backup.

I took the Mac to the Apple Store for a warranty claim and the “Genius” gave me a not so nice response when I asked for the bad drive back. He said if the Mac apps I used didn't work nothing would. I said I want to try SpinRite. He never heard of it and said there is no way a PC product could work on an Apple part or recover an Apple system.

I put the drive in a PC, booted SpinRite and I'm guessing you know what happened from there. SpinRite mode 2 got the drive back. I mounted it in an external enclosure and the Mac's Migration Assistant program got the user's whole world right where it was before the crash.

The user was very pleased to become one of your customers and will claims they will never forget to configure Time Machine again.

Sincerely,
Wm. Lorman

03/30/2012 — A frequent SpinRite using corporation went for a site license.  (Thanks!)
From: Gregg Dille
Subject: Process control site license/SpinRite

Steve, Just wanted to let you know...I work at a major chemical plant/refinery. (Check your recent purchases of 4 copies to match it up). We bought a single copy of Spinrite a while back, and have been using it quite successfully in our process control environment. Shortly after purchase, I sent a note to our group stating that we should acquire a site license, but the powers that be did not take me seriously. I have tried to advocate the use of Spinrite out here whenever I felt the situation warranted it, as we have some nodes that are really old and there is no plan to replace them. During this year's software license “true-up”, I brought it up again and others have since realized the value of Spinrite...so, we just made the effort to purchase 4 copies so that we would have a site license.

Thanks for all that you do.
A Note about Site Licenses: A single SpinRite license entitles end-users to use SpinRite forever on all of their own personally owned mass storage devices. (Remember, SpinRite also recovers and maintains solid-state thumb and SSD drives!) We ask corporations to own four SpinRite licenses — for a “site license” — which entitles them to run SpinRite on all machines at any one site. Additionally, a “corporate license” of ten SpinRite licenses entitles a corporation to run SpinRite on any/all drives at multiple sites — forever. (More about Site Licenses.)

03/14/2012 — A nice recovery story . . . and a lesson about periodic maintenance . . .
From: Ken Harthun
Subject: SpinRite Saves Student's Laptop
Location: Fort Wright, Kentucky

Hi Steve,

I first used SpinRite in 1999 (version 5.0) to recover a floppy disk that had been corrupted. Since that day, I have insisted that wherever I worked, the IT Department agree to make SpinRite available to me should the need arise. And in my private service world, I always insist that if SpinRite recovers the drive, my client purchase a copy. Needless to say, there have been a few sales as a result!

I have my own copy, of course and last summer I insisted that my new employer, Antonelli College, where I am the Network Administrator, purchase a site license. Well, that's a good thing because last week it saved a student's laptop and all of her Interior Design course work:

Windows was throwing all kinds of errors, the wireless wouldn't connect; she gave me a list of seemingly random errors that didn't seem to make a whole lot of sense, but they pointed toward a hard drive failure. I was about to attempt to back up the data and restore the system when it just completely locked up and I had to force shutdown with the power button. On restart, it just hung at the "Starting Windows" screen and would go no further. I could hear the drive thrashing about. Not good.

Enter SpinRite. I booted up from my thumb drive and ran it at level 2. After a couple of hours, SpinRite reported that it was finished, though no errors or bad sectors were found. On reboot, the system came right up, faster than ever, connected to the wireless and immediately began downloading updates. I completed the updates, ran a few tests and pronounced the patient healthy.

Needless to say, the student was ecstatic and thanks to SpinRite, I did my part to provide a "Superior student experience" (part of our vision statement).

Steve, SpinRite is absolutely the best hard drive maintenance and recovery utility on the planet and maybe in the universe! It's worth 10 times the price you charge for it.

Thanks for all you do.
Ken Harthun

P.S. I've never had a hard drive failure and I attribute that to my using SpinRite on my own systems on a regular basis.

03/10/2012 — SpinRite fixes what's wrong, and prevents trouble from occurring.
From: AL
Subject: SpinRite allows external hard drive to be imaged
Location: UK

Hi Steve, this is just my simple SpinRite story. I purchased it so that if anything goes wrong, then I'd have it to save me. I have experienced the gut wrenching feeling of having a drive which is broken, and at least with SpinRite nearby I can feel calm that it can often fix the situation.

I like using MS flight simulator to fly different planes and I have it installed on an external USB iomega hard drive. After a few minutes of playing the drive becomes pretty hot and I know that heat is not too good for a drive, nevertheless it seemed to keep working many times so I thought that probably the heat may not be so bad. I don't know what the max temp is ok to run drives so that they have a long life.

Then one day I thought that I should make a backup image of my flightsim drive in case it failed. I used Acronis TI to do this, but it told me it could not make the backup because there was a problem with the drive. I guessed that it might be damaged sectors. I ran SpinRite over it and it fixed one sector and then the drive worked completely again.

I tried using a fan blowing air over the external drive while I play the sim and it seems to keep it really cool. Maybe that will give it a longer life.

Thanks very much for your great product Steve.

02/08/2012 — Data recovery service companies charge hundreds to thousands of dollars. SpinRite is a LOT less expensive!
From: "Andrew"
Subject: SpinRite made the wife cry
Location: Las Vegas

Hi Steve: To get right to it, I have had a hard drive that apparently died on me about six years ago. Multiple attempts were made to recover the data as it had three years of family photos including one of my sons' births and two years of his infancy. The only other option I felt I had was to send the drive off and pay a large sum to have the data recovered. I figured maybe in the future I could do this as money was short. I've been a listener for about a year now and figured what the heck, lets try it. So I purchased SpinRite and began the recovery process. The scan ran for approximately TWO weeks (the drive was in really bad shape!). I assumed “its probably not going to work”. When the scan finally finished I connected it as a secondary drive to my PC, the drive appeared and all the data was now accessible!!! I immediately copied over all the data. I put together a slideshow of our precious photos and ran it, when my wife had passed by the computer and realized what had happened, the biggest smile and streaming tears came to her face. Thank you so much for saving us thousands of dollars and making a very memorable moment in our lives.
Buy it once, use it forever! Not only can SpinRite save hundreds to thousands of dollars when it allows YOU to do the job of a commercial data recovery service. But that's only the start of the use you'll be able to put SpinRite to . . . since it will be yours forever!

02/05/2012 — A “generic” data recovery thanks to SpinRite
From: Craig Thompson
Subject: SpinRite 6 saves client's files - again!

I've been using SpinRite for several versions now, and have managed to recover files from seemingly dead drives in the past, but this weekend's experience was, by far, the best. I'm a small, one-man computer biz, so quality, affordable utilities are a must for me and SpinRite has paid for itself over and over (and over) again.

A client dropped off an external HD that had died. She was crazed as she stored (instead of backing up) numerous important files to this drive. Losing it all would have been devastating. After trying a number of other quick-fixes, including a relatively simple Level 2 SpinRite scan, I finally opted as a last resort to turn it up to an 18-hour Level 3 scan. After running all day and night, I reconnected the drive to my system and voila! all of the folders and files suddenly reappeared!

I'm copying off now to return her files to her. I am ecstatic that I was able to recover this data for her, and she's ecstatic that she didn't lose everything! All due to the continually outstanding utility SpinRite. While the cost of this app may seem a little steep for small-time people like me, it is well worth the investment (and my clients couldn't agree more, given the results!).

Thanks very much Steve, and everyone else at GRC for such an outstanding tool!

Very sincerely yours,

Craig Thompson
CDT Computer Services

02/05/2012 — People who really know SpinRite aren't even surprised when it works . . .
Subject: You saved an artist's life/SpinRite Success

Hi Steve,

I'm an avid listener of "Security Now!", So when my younger brother Joe called, saying that his hard drive had carked it, I knew exactly where to send him.

He graduated last year and has been really motivated to get stuck into his artwork to kick off his career. His dead drive had potentially lost him years of work in progress, which would be his ticket to getting his career underway. But now that was all threatened.

He purchased, downloaded and ran SpinRite. But he had trouble getting it to his computer which wouldn't boot from a USB and didn't have a floppy drive. And the computer he downloaded it to also didn't have a CD burner! So he borrowed a USB thumb drive from a friend, copied SpinRite to it, took it to his friend's place to burn a boot CD there.

I actually wasn't surprised when he told me it worked! He's now backing up all his precious artwork to DVD and getting on with his new career.

Thank you for saving an artist's life work. Thank you for all your work on this wonderful product and for actually promoting it on your podcast.

Cheers,
Carl & Joe (Melbourne, Australia)

02/05/2012 — Sometimes what you WANT is to destroy all your data . . . securely!
From: Nick Bowen
Subject: SpinRite allowed me to wipe my data
Location: Walnut Creek, CA

A short time ago a friend brought me his computer for me to run DBAN on prior to him getting rid of it. It was an old Win 98 machine and DBAN would not run because the HD would just grind. I had purchased SpinRite a couple of years ago and hadn't used it yet, but I thought this would be a great opportunity. I ran it on level 2 and it fixed the issue. This allowed me to securely wipe the data before it was given away. Thanks for the Podcast and great product. ...Nick

01/03/2012 — He says “we're great”, but that's only because SpinRite is.
From: David Goldenberg
Subject: SpinRite testimonal

Hi Steve (and friends)

I've been a happy owner of spinrite for a few years now, it s my secret weapon in the technology trenches. I am the family tech guy, I help out at my kids school, and have my own part time business fixing PC's, training and networking. Spinrite is always within reach, and never lets me down.

Last week I had been preparing a laptop for a presentation for my ARES Amateur Radio group, I volunteered to get a new program, NBEMS (Narrow Band Emergency Message Software) running that sends text messages and email type communications over the radio. After several days, I had everything working great, and spent several hours getting screenshots for the PowerPoint I was to prepare.

One morning I went to start up the laptop, as I was getting together with another HAM to go over what I had and to get his machine working, I started up my laptop and got the dreaded BSOD and an un-mountable boot volume. I did not break a sweat, or even worry, as I knew from experience that Spinrite would save the day, and needless to say, two hours later the drive scanned and several sectors were repaired, the laptop booted and everything I needed was ready to go!

You're great! THANKS!

David Goldenberg
KJ6MCQ

12/15/2011 — eMail Subject: “Another SpinRite testimonial”
Hey Steve:

I m a listener of Security Now since year 1 and a SpinRite owner. A few days ago, one of the residents in our training program asked how he could get help with his Dell laptop as our IT department doesn't support machines they don't own.

The story is classic: After a power outage his laptop would not boot into Windows. It would blue screen, reboot, rinse and repeat.

Without hesitation, I told him about SpinRite. I lent him my trusty SpinRite CD (told him he'd have to purchase SpinRite if it did fix his machine). I told him he had to be patient and let the program do its work. He fired up SpinRite and went to bed. When he woke up in the morning, he was good to go. Just like that.

SpinRite is a great product. Another drive saved. Another happy customer. Thanks for all that you do with GRC and thanks for all the great podcasts that you've done with Leo on the TWIT network.

Bob McKinstry
St. Louis, MO

12/12/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite, once again”
Steve,

I manage a help desk where we see our share of failed hard drives. Most data is backed up so I'm not usually too concerned with bringing a dead hard drive back to life. But the other day a user came to us because her laptop would no longer boot. We didn't have a spare laptop drive on hand so I had my tech quickly run SpinRite so that, hopefully, she could keep working until we could get another drive and re-stage her laptop. SpinRite worked like a charm and she was able to work the rest of the day without a problem.

SpinRite, as always, came through in a pinch.

Rob
Las Cruces NM

12/01/2011 — A SpinRite v5 owner who upgraded to v6... then needed it!
I have been a SPINRITE customer since version 5 (for more than ten years). I have been using it occasionally but, have had no real problems with my hard drives. I was glad to have the product but, until last night I couldn't actually say it worked as I had not encountered any drive problems. I have recommended the product to others based on my satisfaction with your freeware tools. That has now changed.

For the past week or two, I have been noticing that when starting windows, it would almost boot up but, would not display the list of users to select. Sometimes I would see the users but, would be unable to mouse over them to enter the password. It got to the point that I would sometimes have to boot 3 or 4 times to get a good boot. I was thinking A windows re install was going to be required.

knowing how long that would take just to do the install let alone to re install my favorite applications, I thought I'd run SPINRITE just in case the problem was not corrupted files but rather an inability to read the data. I ran SPINRITE on my boot and C drive partitions over night. Since then I have had no further reboot issues.

I can now recommend the program to others with the full knowledge that it really does work and that it saved me many hours of tedious windows install blues.

Good job.
PPS.

11/27/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite saves movie night”
Hi Steve, and the support team,

Sunday Night is movie night for us, however the disk drive in our NAS box started going awol. So i took it out and connected to a pc and ran my copy of spinrite, first use since i ordered it back in 2010. Anyway, at about 16% I got a Divide Overflow error and a red screen. This being Sunday we thought that was it, but no! An email to GRC support was returned in minutes(!) and change a setting in the BIOS, as Greg recommended, completely cured the problem. Within the hour SpinRite had completed it's magic and Movie night was back on. Of course, the drive then perfectly.

Thanks Steve for the great software, and can you past my thanks to Greg McIntyre from your support team.

Paul Smith

11/12/2011 — SpinRite fixes a floppy . . .
Hi Steve and staff,

Spinrite just saved me...I have an old DOS application which for years I've been running off my hard drive, I only need to use it occasionally, and when I went to use it today I discovered that I had accidentally deleted it, probably in my recent clean out of files I (supposedly) didn't need.

So I whipped out the floppy disk which has the application and related files on it, I went to copy it to the hard drive and nearly had a heart attack when it wouldn't copy...Windows couldn't read the main executable.

I took this as an opportunity to do something I've been meaning to do for a while, buy Spinrite. So I bought spinrite and let it loose on this floppy disk, it spent a few minutes working on it, running Dynastat on it in various places. When I got back in to Windows I was able to copy the disk to the hard drive.

I don't think it is possible to get a replacement copy of this DOS application that I'm using these days, so the $89 I spent on Spinrite bought me enough time to get the files off the disk, and saved me an awful lot of trouble.

Thanks Steve...Spinrite is fantastic!

Regards,
Samuel Gordon-Stewart
Canberra

10/31/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite - Does it again!”
Steve,

Slightly over two weeks ago, a college professor and coworker of mine explained that his home computer would not boot up. With an exam coming up soon it was very important to him that the content of the hard drive be recovered since this is where the exam materials were. I took a look at the machine and found that immediately after POST the screen would say no boot disk was found. Not good.

I thought this was a job for SpinRite. I put SpinRite on a CD and rebooted the machine. I selected level 2 and let it run - that was on October 6th. Well, on Oct 20th it finished. It ran for approximately 342 hours. There was one recovered sector and seven un-recovered. The CD was removed and the computer was rebooted. Amazingly, the machine booted all the way into Windows and the exam materials could be used again. I was astonished. No, not that it worked. But, because I thought after 14 days that the hard drive was going to have so many bad areas that it would likely not boot and much would be lost anyway. That wasn't the case at all.

It has been my experience with SpinRite that it usually only takes a couple hours to work its wonders, but this effort shows that patience pays off. Many thanks to you for providing such a top-notch program.

Jeff Leckemby
Hampton, Virginia

11/12/2011 — eMail Subject: “I pulled the trigger”
Hi Steve,

I have been hearing the testimonials and mentions of SpinRite for a few years now on Security Now. I thought it sounded nice for those without any options, but I can do a bit of data recovery if I need it, plus I have backups of all important data. So it is not for me. Plus, I thought, how can a format/re-zero not solve any problem?

Well, I recently had a disk in our MythTV media machine that started acting up. It was a disk in the recording pool of disks, so some of our recordings (ie girlfriend's) were on it. Mounting the disk separately was showing that it was empty. Not the end of the world (well maybe for me, but not for anyone else).

So I did a manufacture's check on the disk and it came up fine. I did some other little things and the disk continued to check out fine. Still no data upon mounting it.

Skeptical, I talked a friend out of loaning me his copy of SpinRite, with the promise (to him and myself) that if it did anything I would buy it ... but also being pretty sure it probably wouldn't.

Running at level 4 saw it seemingly stuck at 41% on a spare test Pentium 4. So I changed out the motherboard/CPU etc and resumed from there. A day later we are done and we have all our data accessible!

So there Steve, have my $89 (I just purchased). Well worth it for SpinRite AND all the other information you provide me on the Podcast.

Keep up the good work.

David Ward
Sydney, NSW

11/02/2011 — From “Nerds On Site” Organization
I have my own copy of Spinrite that I've been using on clients machines, and have on occasion suggested it to clients and other nerds. It's a nice tool to have along. I've turned non-booting pc's into booting ones, and in one case a workstation on a domain with a bad sector in the users local profile which caused them to instead log in in a temporary new profile each log in. Spinrite read and restored the data, and in a few minutes they were able to log back into their profile, and could finish up while I sourced a replacement drive and cloned then cloned it.

10/05/2011 — eMail Subject: “Success Story”
Wife lost her Android 'phone SD data, and I simply plugged it into laptop, ran Spinrite 6.0 and it was all back. Another unexpected Spinrite miracle when the estimate for "professional" recovery was > $800.

Good investment for a retired UNIX guy!
Happy wife, happy life. Thanks!
Sam Cannon

10/03/2011 — eMail Subject: “Spinrite saves the saw mill!”
Steve, I'm new to a lumber company with lots of automation in the saw mills. This morning we were getting started on day 2 of a software fix on site (where there is a TON of vibration -- it's a hard drive's worst nightmare) and the lead programmer's laptop was doing the "boot almost to windows then bluescreen" dance.

Well I've been a Security Now listener since episode 100 and a spinrite owner for nearly as long. I knew what to do. I OpenVPN'd to my home computer to get my ISO (which I built on top of MS-DOS instead of FreeDos) and burned a CD. I booted Spinrite into level 2 and let her rip. At about 5% I saw the progress stop and dynastat kick into gear. After one 'R' it sped right up again. Figuring the odds were good that the problem was fixed, I cancelled out, crossed my fingers and booted. Windows came up just fine and we were able to copy off the source code and were right back in business. I'll be talking with my boss about site licenses later today.

Thanks Steve for a great product, and the best netcast out there. You saved us a lot of time and made me look great at a very good price. Plus I'll get home to my wife and kids sooner--did I mention this mill is a 12-hour drive from my house? Keep up the good work (and hurry up with Cryptolink!).

- Mark Ping in Chico, California

09/28/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite saves me from the IT dept”
Steve and Leo,

I am a long time listener of Security Now and have even sent in a few questions or comments over the years. I purchased a copy of SpinRite a few years ago as a way to support the podcast never thinking I would need it (I have a home server and offsite backup). However a few weeks ago I had a situation that proved me wrong. I use my personal laptop at home to access our corporate VPN. Our corporate IT dept implemented a new policy that any PC accessing our corporate network must have our corporate semantic endpoint security installed which includes whole drive encryption. As my PC was in the process of encrypting the drive it hung at 65% which hung the whole system (no boot nor system response). I thought "well that's weird", but there must be something corrupt on the drive so I reformated and reinstalled and restored the backups and restarted the install and encrypt process. It hung again at 65%. Ah Ha. I pulled out my copy of SpinRite and ran it on the drive. At 65% it found a damaged sector, which it fixed. After SpinRite finished I restarted the machine. The encryption process finished and all was happy in the IT world again. Sorry this is so long, but I just wanted to say thanks for all you do. Feel free to excerpt if you use this on the podcast.

Thanks
Joel Davis
Texas City, Texas

09/25/2011 — From a long time user
I've been a user of SpinRite through its many versions, and it has saved me from complete disaster more than a few times.

Months ago, I upgraded to SpinRite 6.0 even though I didn't have an immediate need for it. But, this morning, my normally problem-free laptop wouldn't boot; it just went into the BIOS setup over and over. So, I booted and ran SpinRite 6.0 from the CD drive. It immediately found--and fixed--a defective sector at the beginning of the disk. I then rebooted normally and everything was fine!

Thanks again to Steve. SpinRite has saved me many, many times what I've spent over the years; it's no doubt the single most valuable disk utility in existence.

10/22/2011 — eMail Subject: “happy user was able to save a USB drive from the trash can”
I've owned Spinrite for years, but never used it much. The boot CD just sat on the shelf.

Yesterday, one of my important USB hard drives failed to read. I believe the problem was caused by too much fragmentation and the drive got too full. (Thanks, Microsoft for you inadequate defrag utility!) I said, what the heck, I'll try the Spinrite CD and see it I can do anything.

Yep....in less than two hours, I had a working hard drive again! SpinRite had never seen this drive...it just went in and did the repairs. Well worth the $89 bucks that I spent several years ago for the program.

Thanks
Mike Goodrich
Columbia, MO

10/20/2011 — eMail Subject: “A SPinRite Tale”
Dear Steve,

I recently purchased my first copy of SpinRite to help with an issue I've been having with my laptop. Now, this isn't a story about how SpinRite saved me at the last second, of the last minute, of the last day before the Big Thing. Neither is this a story about how running SpinRite on Level 5 recovered my data AND found my neighbors lost kitten in the process. No, this is something more sublime.

Following other investigative procedures, I ran SpinRite on Level 4, and was able to determine that my physical memory dump blue screen errors (Windows XP, folks) are not related to drive issues, but more likely due to excess heat. (SpinRite told me about THAT!) But finally, long story short: I ran my Windows defrag utility on my 5-year old laptop *after* using SpinRite, and was then confronted with something I had NEVER seen before: A 100% perfectly defragmented main drive! I was intrigued when I first saw the red stripes of unmovable files -- that I had grown so used to -- beginning to disappear so rapidly in the defrag window, and then I froze when they disappeared altogether... and didn't come back. (I had to take a screenshot to prove this to myself after the utility was done) Apparently, I wasn't hallucinating. SpinRite has many uses as I've heard on the "Security Now!" podcast, but this is a great side-effect of the medicine that is SpinRite.

Thank you, I feel better now.
Sincerely,
Loncey Mills
New York, New York

08/31/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite Success”
Thanks, Steve!

I haven't worked with SpinRite in quite a few years. Then I needed to run CHKDSK on my Dell Optiplex 755 over the weekend, and CHKDSK would hang at 36% during phase 5, checking available free space. No matter how long I let it run, CHKDSK would not continue, would not finish.

So I thought of SpinRite, accessed the web site, bought it, downloaded it, created the .ISO image, burned a bootable CD. I booted from the CD and got an Opcode error. Researching the error on the Internet, I found references to others with Optiplex 755 boxes trying to run SpinRite getting the error that indicated that changing the BIOS from RAID-AHCI to RAID-ATA would eliminate the Opcode error. So I changed the BIOS setting and restarted from the CD. Sure enough, SpinRite came right up with the familiar DOS interface that I had not seen in years.

SpinRite ran successfully at Level 2, restarted the workstation, ran CHKDSK successfully, booted up normally. Problem solved. I'm using it right now.

SpinRite and the other tools from GRC have helped me so many times over the years. I'm happy that you're still around and still making these tools available. I'm happy to have SpinRite back in my toolbox.

Great job, folks! Keep up the good work!

Thanks!
Terry LeBlanc

08/10/2011 — eMail Subject: “Spinrite fix disk at 20% failure”
Hey, I'm a 17 year old boy from Norway who loves your show. It was actually what got me into liking computers and I find it very easy to understand even for someone whit close to no prior experience with computers.

I started listening to Security Now just a couple of months ago, the first one I listen to was in fact the one about BITCOINS, then I listen to a few more before I decided to go back to the very beginning and I'm now at episode 115 (likely 150 when you read this :3). I love your show and have listened to it all summer long, on the plane, on the train and virtually everywhere.

Well I downloaded SpaceMonger to see what it was and I liked it. But on my 2 year old laptop it was unable to read approximately 20% of the drive, I didn't care to much about it at first as I have only used about 40% of the Hard Drive anyway (I like to keep it clean). But I had some problem with explorer.exe stops working, and it's a little hard to use a PC without it. This problem escalated after a while. And I decided to go into safe mode to do a full scan, however I had not gone into safe mode manually before. Ever. (I have just press the power button to shut it off and then on again, not good to the computer, but I'm a kid, please excuse me). So I figured it was probably in the BIOS menu or something. It isn't, but I found some hard drive scanning tools. Remembering in the back of my head that SpaceMonger had not found my entire hard drive I decided to run the tests. It told me that 80% of my disk was OK. Having 20% of my disk being dead was not a good thing. I knew exactly what I needed. SpinRite! I have been lent a copy from a relative of a friend of mine (I'm poor) and it worked perfectly! My disk is now 100% working and it have had no problems the last couple of weeks. I really want my own copy of SpinRite, but my parents are hard to convince and since I'm under age I need their permission and more importantly their credit card to make online purchases. So I decided that I will get SpinRite for Christmas this year. It will be my best present ever!

You're the best Steve!

Bent Heier
Oslo, Norway

08/14/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite same my teeth”
SpinRite did it again. This time SpinRite saved my teeth!

Hello Steve, I decided I want to share this story with SpinRite followers.
I survived a car crash recently, caused by drunk driver, speeding and having difficulties controlling his BMW. This driver hit the car behind mine, and it hit mine. After all ended, i had some injuries on my head, nothing serious, but the most of my injuries required dental help. At this time i was unable to afford such serious interaction from a dentist, in terms of money. but i had no choice. health is most important.

A friend of mine is a dentist who has the equipment to heal me, and the qualifications to do so. I was about to ask him to give me time to pay him with few separate payments in time. he told me he cannot do much. his computer works poorly and cannot access all patient records, including my dental record. I told him i can fix this as soon as pain is relieved to be able to focus on the task at hand. he gave me pain killing injection and allowed me to fix his PC.

I booted SpinRite on level 4 to check his drive. We got to the problem late - the drive was in deep trouble already, but we got lucky, because it was not too late - we quickly saw green R icons when SpinRite began it's work. SpinRite found two areas that were bad. one contained one windows XP system .DLL file needed for the os, to work at all. The second area contained pieces of the database with the dental records.

While the dentist was trying to focus on my first healing session, i had firm belief in SpinRite. After 2 days of constant work, SpinRite completed the hard drive maintenance reporting that it successfully recovered all damaged areas and marking them as unusable for the drive. On the drive map, i saw 2 green R icons, which was what i was hoping for. i repeated the process. on the map i saw two B icons, on the places where the green R icons were before, indicating these areas will not be used again. after the second pass on level 4, SpinRite says that there were no bad areas. Great.

We booted the PC and jaws hit the floor. The system booted so very fast, and the database with all dental records was there in perfect condition opened in a second, and responding very fast to inputs, and searches. The dentist was so happy that he asked me for advice how to prevent this. I told him buy two NAS servers and use them as redundant backup for his data. i told him two in case one dies, to have another copy, for precaution.

The dentist promised me ... he will heal me for free.

Then, a few healing sessions later we made an arrangement. i will maintain and fix his computers, in return he will heal me every time i need dental help. i have 4 more healing sessions until i'm fully healed, and fully recovered.

Thank you Steve for this great piece of software, and thank you Steve and Leo for this great podcast. I wish best of luck to GRC.COM and TWIT.TV from a happy SpinRite User.

Christian Alexandrov
Sofia City, Bulgaria

11/05/2011 — eMail Subject: “YAT (Yet Another Testimonial)”
Steve,

Ho-hum, just another testimonial about a business saved by SpinRite.

Being a avid TWITer, I've been addicted to Security Now! since #1. Long about SN #50 I decided that I should invest in SpinRite for the 4 computers in my business. Since I don't have a dedicated IT dept, and I'm the resident geek, and I never made time for routine tests.

It was Microsoft's Tuesday Update on May 8 when it started. I had updated 3 of the computers when I was in the shop updating #4. All went well until the re-boot. Nothing. I tried booting off a boot CD, but dir C:\ reported nothing. I had not backup this computer in a little too long, and on it were critical customer files for some impending jobs. Yikes! What to do?

After much fretting and wringing of hands, I remembered I had invested in SpinRite after hearing you telling Leo about some of the letters you received. I got out the CD storage case and found SpinRite. I popped it in and ran the recovery. After a few hours I came back and it was finished. It had recovered some sectors and marked several others as unrecoverable. I held my breath and re-booted. The C:\ drive was back! And Windows seemed to start OK, but then it choked part way through with the error "ntoskrnl.exe" is missing or damaged. I'm no IT pro, but I knew a missing NT OS Kernel is not good.

A widows repair or re-install was in order. But I didn't want to risk loosing the critical customer files, so I decided to pull the hard drive and pop it into a USB case. I plugged it into another system and voila, the C: directory appeared. I copied the necessary customer files and directories and re-installed the hard drive in the system. All seemed to in order until I went to the CD storage case to get the Windows Home Install disk. Not to be found! I had the CDs for the other systems, but they were XP pro systems. I tried running the windows repair, but it reported missing file "ntfs.sys" I tried copying it from another system. but I got the same error. Clearly a reinstall was in order. Now if only SpinRite could "recover" the missing Windows Install CD...

The rest of the story: I was unable to locate the missing CD so I bought a Windows Home Upgrade CD and the system is up and running. Jobs got done and products delivered.

Thanks for the great product and for all your "white hat" products like "Shields UP" and the like. Keep up the good work and the fascinating netcasts with Leo.

Regards,
Bob Thibodeau
Imprinted Specialty Products Co.

08/03/2011 — eMail Subject: “Another Satisfied SpinRite Customer”
Dear Steve,

I've always been my parents tech support guy. When I joined the US Air Force, they stationed me pretty far away from home. Thankfully, I've always been able to VNC into their computers and get things straightened out. This week I was presented with a rather unique challenge. My mother called to tell me that their computer was throwing a bunch of disk errors in Windows. Fixing this problem was particularly difficult for two reasons. First, VNC wouldn't help them if their hard disk suddenly crashed. Second, I'm currently deployed to Afghanistan, where getting a good enough connection to VNC into their computer can be difficult. I knew that SpinRite might be able to fix the disk errors but would I be able to walk my parents (who aren't the most tech savvy people) though it over the phone?

Believe it or not, I able to get a good enough connection to VNC into their computer and make a SpinRite bootable image. I was also able to instruct my mother, over the phone, how to boot into SpinRite and start the repair process. She called me the next day and told me that SpinRite had fixed 12 errors and that their computer was back to normal.

I cannot tell you how much we appreciate your product. It really saved the day.

Jeremy Webb

07/26/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite Story - Happy but Confused”
Steve,

I'm a Security Now listener and registered SpinRite owner of many years though I just had my first "opportunity" to use it. The experience left me happy but confused. Let me explain:

The other night we had a lightning storm and though my system was turned off and unplugged I believe a very close lightning strike may have caused the problem. When I booted my system, it booted OK but immediately started acting strange. Responses to my commands caused it to slow to a crawl. I'd launch a program and it would literally take a minute or so to respond - all the while showing the "busy circle thingy". I re-booted - same thing.

So I booted SpinRite - level 2. It ran for about an hour and stopped displaying a RED "Division Overflow Error" dialog box. The box displayed a bunch of HEX info (like error occurred at B04E, eax:00000CCA, ebx:0000003D, etc.) and asked me to write down all this data and re-boot SpinRite. It also said (I believe) that SpinRite would ask for this data to aid in its repair process.

I re-booted but could never see anything different than the normal SpinRite processes. I thought it was going to ask me for the data I copied.

Confused, I re-started level 2 figuring I'd get the same error and re-read the directions. To my amazement, I never got that error message. Instead, SpinRite stopped about 14% through and began "analyzing" a certain portion of the disk. It stayed there for over two hours until I went to bed (with it happily analyzing away).

I awoke this morning to a GREEN dialog box stating that SpinRite had completed its work - and the best news is that all is well with the system now!!

As I wrote, "Happy but confused". What happened? Did I miss something in the first RED error message that asked me to save and re-enter data when asked to do so? I was never asked.

Anyhow, I thought I'd share this story - thank you for all you do for the community.

Peace,
Mike DeLucia

07/10/2011 — eMail Subject: “Spinrite makes the other guys look good!”
I own a small IT consulting business (Wellmax Computer). I have been using Spinrite for almost 20 years. A customer brought an XP machine that was freezing. I knew that he was having problems with his hard drive. He wanted a new drive, not just to repair the old one. I had a drive cloning utility (shall remain nameless) and when setting up to clone one drive to the other was dismayed to see that it was projected to take 22 hours to finish the cloning process. This was a 500 Gig drive. Well after 24 hrs it had barely budged…maybe done 8%. My gut told me ......I think the source drive is having problems. So I ran Spinrite at level 4, 2 days later it had finished. I started the cloning process again and this time was done in 22 minutes instead of 22 hours. I got to thinking….why done these clone software manufactures don’t include Spinrite as part of their software? Of course there would be a royalty to you for each copy sold. This just seems a match made in heaven.
David Ward

07/09/2011 — A customer find SpinRite “elegant”.
Dear Steve,

Please add my name your long list of happy customers. My laptop, which I need tomorrow to teach my Anatomy and Physiology class, would not boot up properly. It took twenty minutes to get to my desktop, and everything I tried to do had a three or four minute delay.

The computer was unusable.

I called Dell, and the tech walked me through the dell diagnostics. The hardware all passed, including the hard drive. I was unable to use system restore (it crashed). The next step was to reinstall Windows, and of course all my programs. Fortunately, my data was backed up (mostly). Still, I had hours and hours of drudgery before me.

Before taking that drastic measure, I thought I might try the SpinRite utility. To be honest, I bought SpinRite as a way to thank you for your outstanding Security Now podcast, which has brought me so much enjoyment.

I was afraid it would require more expertise than I had to run it, but the program is very well designed to guide the user through the necessary options. I booted up from the SpinRite CD, and went to the recovery choice (#2). Then I left it alone. I came back later and saw one of the sectors was bad. SpinRite chewed on it for a bit, and then was finished.

I booted up without the CD, windows ran CHKDSK, and up came my login.

My laptop is now working perfectly.

When I took math in college, I learned that some theorem proofs are so beautiful they are called "elegant." Well SpinRite is an "elegant" utility. It sure saved me tonight.

Thank you so much for Security Now, and thanks for Spinrite. No-one who owns a computer should be without it.

Russ Palmeri

06/22/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite Story”
Here is a SpinRite story for Steve:

I have a neighbor who has mild Altzheimer's who has been forced to give up his flat and move into a nursing home about 20 miles away on the other side of the city. His Compaq notebook computer has become his main way of keeping in contact with his family and friends. He is a bit of a Noob and he often manages to get it pretty tangled up. I often fix it for him when I visit him on Thursday afternoon on my way to Tai Chi. It is his lifeline so he works hard to learn new things and has progressed from email, to Skype to Google Earth.

Last month, just a couple of days before leaving for the US, I paid my friend a last visit and the inevitable disaster had occurred. The Compaq wouldn't boot. SpinRite immediately came to mind and I knew that it would be complicated and expensive for him to have the computer fixed commercially. My problem was getting it back to him before I had to fly out. Quick as a flash my friend saw the solution. I could leave it in his old flat to which we both have keys and he could retrieve it after I flew out using his electric scooter and Perth's excellent train system which can accommodate scooters during non peak periods. In the end that wasn't necessary.

When I got the Compaq home I immediately ran level 2 and it finished in less than an hour and booted up first time. No time consuming need to reinstall Windows and all those endless updates. To be safe I ran SpinRite on level 4 overnight and was able to drop the computer off the next day in plenty of time to catch my flight. I know it is still working because I get emails regularly.

Now, Steve, all we need is SpinRite for the human brain. I hereby volunteer for a level 4 scan anytime you are ready.

Lorenz Gude
Perth, western Australis
(Currently in West Palm Beach)

06/07/2011 — eMail Subject: “SpinRite feedback”
Dear Steve,

A co-worker & friend of mine recently told me about Security Now episode #291 which was all about the Stuxnet worm. As I listened to more episodes of Security Now, I figured out that you were indeed the inventor of the Gibson light pen! Which I fondly recall from my early days of learning to program computers.

Also, as I listened to Security Now I became curious about SpinRite because I frequently troubleshoot, diagnose and repair PCs for my family, extended family and friends. I didn't purchase SpinRite immediately, but planned to use it the next time I had a problem with a hard disk. As luck would have, shortly after I listened to episode #291, the hard disk in my teenage son's PC started making a strange noise and the system ran very slowly. Normally I just replace disks at the first instant they start acting unexpectedly, because that is usually an early indicator of eminent failure. This time I purchased SpinRite instead and ran it on my son's system in level 4 mode. SpinRite reported no problems, but the system has worked just fine ever since and I have been saved the cost of purchasing a new disk. By my calculations, SpinRite has now paid for itself and is essentially "free" for my future use!

Thanks for a great product,

Mark Botner
Little Rock, Arkansas

P.S. I'm now listening to ALL of the Security Now podcasts, starting with episode #1 and I am currently up to #64, they are fantastic podcasts!

05/27/2011 — eMail Subject: “Spinrite rescues some pictures, and a question of etiquette”
Hello. I'm a regular SN listener and I'd like to share this story with you.

I'm always on the look out for broken computer parts. When a friend's laptop broke down, he asked me if I wanted it, which I did. In the conversation, he told me he was a little depressed as there were lots of un-backed-up photos on the laptop. He had done "everything" to try rescue the files but he had lost all hope of recovering them.

I wondered if "everything" included SpinRite, but decided against asking as I didn't want to depress him or get his hopes up. Instead I gave the laptop to a friend (and fellow SN listener) and asked him to try his copy of Spinrite on it. Next day, he reported that it worked, but warned that the disk was not long for this world and I should make a backup while I still can.

Buzzed for a chance to be the hero, I booted the laptop up and prepared to copy the files onto a USB hard disk. Not knowing where his pictures were, I browsed into the "My Pictures" folder and found myself looking at some very pornographic pictures of my friend and his wife.

I quickly made a copy of the files, slightly embarrassed at what I saw. He must have been really convinced the contents were gone for good.

Now, I'm not sure what to do. He didn't ask me to recover the files but I know he really wants the pictures back. If I gave him a copy, he'd know I must have seen them. Any advice please?

Bill P. Godfrey
Daventry, England
Earlier SpinRite Testimonials
(for the truly skeptical!)
So . . . Does SpinRite TRULY work?

In a word . . . ABSOLUTELY! . . . and it will work for you.

The few samples above describe the successes that these people — like hundreds of thousands of others — have experienced with SpinRite.

You can wait until you're in trouble, and perhaps you'll be luckier than the hundreds of thousands of people who never used SpinRite for preventative maintenance until they were brought to the brink of disaster. But if that day comes, don't forget GRC.COM and SpinRite.

It works.

We'll be here 24/7 to help rescue your possibly precious personal computer data.

OR . . . you can become a SpinRite owner TODAY and head-off that future disaster before it strikes — as tens of thousands of SpinRite's owners do every day. Just occasionally run SpinRite overnight to keep an eye on your drives and prevent them from delivering a nasty surprise at the most inconvenient time. (Is there ever a good time?)




Click the left button to begin the process of upgrading or purchasing your own copy of the world's leading mass storage maintenance and data recovery utility.  Or click the right button to answer questions you may have about SpinRite's use and operation . . .

Click to purchase SpinRite v6.0     Click for answers to the most common questions

And if, by any chance, you need any more convincing that we know our way around data recovery disasters (or if you just want to read some more REALLY happy and true stories): You may enjoy reading a few of the reactions we received from users of our free FIX-CIH utility which rebuilt their hard drives after they were wiped out by the Chernobyl (CIH) virus.

(Some of these are really fun!)

In any event, thank you for your interest, attention, and consideration.




Jump to top of page
Gibson Research Corporation is owned and operated by Steve Gibson.  The contents
of this page are Copyright (c) 2014 Gibson Research Corporation. SpinRite, ShieldsUP,
NanoProbe, and any other indicated trademarks are registered trademarks of Gibson
Research Corporation, Laguna Hills, CA, USA. GRC's web and customer privacy policy.
Jump to top of page

Last Edit: Mar 20, 2014 at 16:20 (27.20 days ago)Viewed 204 times per day